National Museum of Racing names 10 Hall of Fame finalists

Friday, March 7, 2014
Text Size: A | A

— The 10 finalists have been named on the National Museum of Racing's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot, as selected by the Hall of Fame Nominating Committee.

The candidates are jockeys Chris Antley, Garrett Gomez, Craig Perret and Alex Solis; thoroughbreds Ashado, Curlin, Kona Gold and Xtra Heat; and trainers Steve Asmussen and Gary Jones.

The four candidates with the highest vote totals will be elected.

The finalists were selected by the Hall of Fame's 16-member Nominating Committee from a total of 84 candidates suggested throughout the year by turf journalists.

The results of the voting will be announced on April 25.

The induction ceremony will be held at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs on Aug. 8.

The ceremony, set for 10:30 a.m., is free and open to the public.

Share story: print print email email facebook facebook reddit reddit


Log-in to post a comment.

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?