CARS HOMES JOBS
 

All-cash home sales on the rise

Wednesday, May 28, 2014
When research firm CoreLogic posted data earlier this month on all-cash home sales, it listed New York among a handful of states in which more than half the purchases were made that way.
 

Shoppers don’t like so many choices

Thursday, May 22, 2014
More than one-third of 2,800 Consumer Reports subscribers polled said they felt overwhelmed by the information they had to process before buying.
 

Breach hubbub has died quickly

Thursday, May 15, 2014
Whew! Dodged that bullet.
 

Connecting farmers, consumers troublesome

Thursday, May 8, 2014
The concept was lofty — using the Hudson River to get upstate farm products to New York City — but the devil was in the details.
 

Connecting farmers, consumers troublesome

Wednesday, May 7, 2014
The concept was lofty — using the Hudson River to get upstate farm products to New York City — but the devil was in the details.
 

Job growth in this recovery mostly low-wage variety

Thursday, May 1, 2014
The National Employment Law Project contends the 2007-09 recession wiped out close to 2 million mid- and higher-wage jobs, replacing them in the recovery with lower-wage ones.
 

Wal-Mart eyes even healthier bottom line

Wednesday, April 23, 2014
When you’re the nation’s largest retailer — as well as its No. 1 grocer — people pay attention.
 

No apartment bubble, just high demand

Wednesday, April 16, 2014
An old factory and a school in Schenectady are revamped for apartments. Same in Albany, in a former printing plant, a bank and an office building.
 

Sears still shedding Kmart stores

Wednesday, April 9, 2014
The shelves holding colorful displays of bath towels are gone and the pet food section is sparse, but a couple of aisles of toys remained as of late last week, along with a lot of vacuum cleaners.
 

Spring brings new push for disclosure

Wednesday, April 2, 2014
I wonder if Tom DiNapoli’s ears were burning.
 

Two steps back on bag recycling

Wednesday, March 26, 2014
It was Monday afternoon and the teen apparel shop at the mall was empty. Greeted at the door by the lone sales clerk on the floor, I walked a loop around the store, as if browsing.
 

Playing fashion’s numbers game

Wednesday, March 19, 2014
I went clothes shopping last week and remembered why I hate doing it.
 

Student loan debt weighs on the economy

Thursday, March 13, 2014

The sum of $189,234.78 is impressive on its own.
 

Demand for retail space on the rise

Thursday, March 6, 2014
A medical urgent-care center on Wolf Road in Colonie? Why not?
 

Brookstone, fresh fruit: Not your father’s rest area

Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014
I have seen the future of interstate rest areas, and they look a lot like a high-end mall food court.
 
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: