The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Loading Editorials...

We need to face our infrastructure problem

Sunday, Oct. 4, 2015
As the American Society of Civil Engineers was giving out its grades for New York's infrastructure last week, you could almost picture Bluto, Flounder, D-Day, Pinto and Hoover standing in front of Dean Wormer's desk as they received their mid-term grades.

Heroin crisis won't go away without a fight

Sunday, Oct. 4, 2015
Growing problem needs growing effort by law enforcement

MMA proves itself worthy of legalization

Saturday, Oct. 3, 2015
Heavily regulated environment takes sport out of the bar room

State forcing Schoharie County into absurd guessing game

Thursday, Oct. 1, 2015
Schoharie County officials shouldn't be in the dark about info that could help them fight pipeline

Changes would help Luther Forest realize its potential

Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2015
Zoning changes and allowing PILOTs would open door to more companies moving into tech park

Tree museum will be a taste of paradise

Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2015
Unusual idea will beautify old Alco site, create educational and recreational destination

High Notes

Monday, Sept. 28, 2015
Spotlighting the good being done in our communities

Force GE to complete cleanup

Sunday, Sept. 27, 2015
Any parent knows that when a boy asks, "Is this good?" he knows it isn't. General Electric Co., which has been dredging PCBs from the Hudson River for the past decade, knows it's not good.

Reforms will help ex-cons and society

Sunday, Sept. 27, 2015
Efforts seek to ease transition from prison to freedom

Don't tempt fate on tax cap

Saturday, Sept. 26, 2015
Let department heads and supervisors think they still have to adhere to it
Cost of replica bridge can't be justified

Cost of replica bridge can't be justified

Friday, Sept. 25, 2015
State and feds have more critical uses for that much money

Board hid from scrutiny on renaming of field

Thursday, Sept. 24, 2015
Guilderland school board should have discussed decision on Kenyon Field in public.

No excuse for lax oversight of grades

Wednesday, Sept. 23, 2015
School districts should have strong policies in place to ensure change of student grades is justified

New Galway library will enhance community

Tuesday, Sept. 22, 2015
Voters should support ballot proposition on Wednesday

High notes: Amsterdam, Niskayuna and Schenectady

Monday, Sept. 21, 2015
Highlighting good works

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?