The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
 

Be cautious in flagging bad cops

Sunday, July 19, 2015
A new effort by the New York City police department to provide officials with more information about the conduct of its officers is commendable in the wake of a growing degree of public mistrust.
 

Adirondacks need attention, not wolves and cougars

Sunday, July 19, 2015
The Adirondack Park needs a lot of work to survive another 125 years. What it doesn’t need right now are wolves and cougars.
 

NY bill would help adoptees gain access

Saturday, July 18, 2015
A bill pending in the state Legislature to give adopted children better access to their birth records is a solid first step toward providing these individuals with vital medical information.
 

Give local communities control over fireworks sales

Friday, July 17, 2015
More local control could help reduce complaints, problems
 

Governor must adapt to concerns

Thursday, July 16, 2015
Siena poll results show need for Cuomo to adjust policies, approach to governing state
 

One chance to right two wrongs

Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Cosby not worthy of highest civilian honor
 

Bills would add teeth to state's open government laws

Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Cuomo should sign legislation to compel governments to be more transparent
 

High notes

Monday, July 13, 2015
In Schenectady, the Schenectady Inner City Ministry is helping to provide food to the city’s estimated 8,000 food-insecure school-aged children.
 

Joint effort needed to prevent geese-plane collisions

Sunday, July 12, 2015
It’s completely understandable why officials with the Federal Aviation Administration and the U.S. Department of Agriculture are so anxious to round up and euthanize the geese that hang out at Collins Lake in Scotia.
 

Medical marijuana dispensary no concern

Saturday, July 11, 2015
Facility will be little more than a highly secured drug store
 

Courtesy, not curfews, answer to fireworks complaints

Friday, July 10, 2015
We already have enough laws against disturbing the peace
 

Victims gain opportunities for justice

Thursday, July 9, 2015
New legal strength for victims of campus sexual assault, police shootings
 

Really want to help? Fix the school aid formula

Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Grant is just pork that doesn't address Schenectady's underfunded aid
 

Grad sashes should have been allowed

Tuesday, July 7, 2015
District could have made exception for Marines recognition without affecting dignity of ceremony
 

High Notes

Monday, July 6, 2015
Spotlighting the good being done in our communities
 
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: