The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Sara Foss's Thinking It Through
by Sara Foss

Thinking It Through

A Daily Gazette life blog
Her column and blog rolled into one
 
Tuesday, Feb. 9, 2016

Bharara strikes hopeful tone

At times, Preet Bharara made it sound so easy.
 
Saturday, Feb. 6, 2016

Here’s one statistic you can throw out

Since 2011, the New York State Education Department has been measuring the percentage of high school graduates who are ready for college — a benchmark it calls the “aspirational performance measure.”
 
Friday, Feb. 5, 2016

Super Bowl Pick

What, no Pats? OK. The Panthers.
 
Wednesday, Feb. 3, 2016

Groundbreaking not really a big deal

Pep rallies have never been my thing, which is why I didn’t see any particular need to attend the ceremonial groundbreaking for the Rivers Casino and Resort at Mohawk Harbor.
 
Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2016

Smart travel is best Zika defense


Shortly before my wedding, my friend Ed contacted me with a question I found impossible to answer with any certainty: Would there be mosquitoes in New Hampshire in late September?
 
Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016

Unneeded ethics rule infringes on free speech

In my years working at newspapers, I’ve dealt with more PR people than I can count.
 
Thursday, Jan. 28, 2016

Teachout an intriguing candidate

The race to succeed U.S. Rep. Chris Gibson was always going to be interesting.
 
Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2016

Recent Viewing

‘Brooklyn,’ ‘Creed,’ 'Room' and ‘Chi-raq’
 
Sunday, Jan. 24, 2016

An effort worthy of attention

I’m always happy to learn about efforts to make the world a better place, particularly grassroots, volunteer-driven efforts.
 
Thursday, Jan. 21, 2016

NFL Conference Championship Picks

I think the Patriots can win. Of course. I always do.
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: