The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Margaret Hartley's Greenpoint
by Margaret Hartley

Greenpoint

A Daily Gazette community blog
Ideas on greener living
 
Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2014

Don't toss old cloths, recycle them

New Yorkers throw away an estimated 1.4 billion pounds of clothing each year, and Americans nationwide throw out 10.5 million tons of clothing and other textiles, like bedding and drapes.
 
Monday, Nov. 10, 2014

Recycling pumpkins

It’s time to start eating the decorations
 
Tuesday, Nov. 4, 2014

More baby chicks, as winter approaches

“It’s all ‘quack, quack, quack’ in the front yard and ‘peep, peep, peep’ in the back.”
 
Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014

The wind through the windows

Winter is cold. Happens every year.
 
Saturday, Oct. 11, 2014

Soap and water still best way to combat germs

Anti-bacterials are overkill
 
Monday, Oct. 6, 2014

Makeup? Candy? Lead found in surprising places

Watch out for cheap lipstick
 
Monday, Sept. 29, 2014

Missing gloves, matching gloves

Not even cold yet and already we can't find our gloves
 
Saturday, Sept. 20, 2014

The smallest community canning kitchen ever?

Four hands, two heads
 
Monday, Sept. 15, 2014

Plastic waste everywhere — even beer

Buying less plastic, recycling best ways to control it
 
Monday, Sept. 8, 2014

School starts with paper blizzard

How many worksheets can one kid bring home?
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: