The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Margaret Hartley's Greenpoint
by Margaret Hartley

Greenpoint

A Daily Gazette community blog
Ideas on greener living
 
Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Guilty K-onscience?

A    lot of people have been griping lately about Keurig, that system that makes drinking coffee at home almost as expensive and far more wasteful than buying a disposable to-go cup on the run. Two weeks ago, the inventor of the K-Cup — those little plastic containers that make individual ...
 
Sunday, March 8, 2015

Remember the bees when you start seeds

Daylight Savings Time is a sham, but the days really are getting longer.
 
Wednesday, March 4, 2015

The sun is winning

Sure it's cold. But the sun is higher every day.
 
Monday, Feb. 23, 2015

Snowy winters make for good exploring

I know we are lucky to live near woods to explore, trees to climb, places to fish and swim and ride bikes
 
Monday, Feb. 16, 2015

Watering the beasts in icy weather

Crack ice out of water dishes, refill with warm water. Animals drink, water freezes. Repeat.
 
Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2015

Tracks in the snow

Everything takes longer when there’s more than a foot of snow on the ground, and I find myself explaining this to the animals during my morning visits. “Just be patient,” I tell the ducks as I dig out their pen so they can walk around after I open up their ...
 
Monday, Feb. 2, 2015

Cheaper gas? Conserving still a good idea

I'm not running out to buy an SUV.
 
Monday, Jan. 26, 2015

Decluttering, for another new year

Responsible decluttering is a lot harder than the Dumpster version.
 
Monday, Jan. 19, 2015

New store model skips the packaging

Bring your own bags -- and hoppers, bins, tins and jars.
 
Saturday, Jan. 10, 2015

Ox, goats in house? The debate continues

The next house we live in is going to have room for the oxen. Or not.
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: