CARS HOMES JOBS
Margaret Hartley's Greenpoint
by Margaret Hartley

Greenpoint

A Daily Gazette community blog
Ideas on greener living
 
Saturday, June 28, 2014

Second plantings extend garden

While waiting for veggies to ripen, you can start planting more.
 
Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Lawn mowing by livestock

Goats in Detroit may be out of work, but ruminants make short work of grass elsewhere.
 
Monday, June 16, 2014

Red eft season

Last week the little red salamanders with black-ringed spots were all over the edges of the road, where daisies and poison ivy grow.
 
Saturday, June 7, 2014

The restorative power of a nature walk

I don’t care what the weather's like outside. I just want to be out there.
 
Thursday, June 5, 2014

Grow your own birdseed

Plant flowers for yourself, and the birds
 
Monday, May 19, 2014

Not too scared to go outside

Sure there are things to be wary of, but don't be so scared of bugs and bats that you avoid the great outdoors
 
Saturday, May 10, 2014

Long aimless walks energizes mind, body

Walking — the simple placing of one foot in front of the other — is both deliberate enough and mindless enough that it frees the brain to start working.
 
Sunday, May 4, 2014

Saving rainwater good for our vegetable garden, Earth

The 2 trillion gallons of rain that might have fallen Wednesday could just be spring storms. But our storms seem to be getting more severe, with more rain, more damaging winds. The weather extremes seem to be becoming more extreme.
 
Saturday, April 26, 2014

With plastics, the more we avoid the better

The problem with these plastics is the chemicals that leach out of them. And if you are eating or drinking from things encased in plastics, those chemicals can end up in your food — and in you.
 
Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Hotbeds for young veggies

Manure provides heat that plants need to grow
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: