The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Margaret Hartley's Greenpoint
by Margaret Hartley

Greenpoint

A Daily Gazette community blog
Ideas on greener living
 
Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2015

Tracks in the snow

Everything takes longer when there’s more than a foot of snow on the ground, and I find myself explaining this to the animals during my morning visits. “Just be patient,” I tell the ducks as I dig out their pen so they can walk around after I open up their ...
 
Monday, Feb. 2, 2015

Cheaper gas? Conserving still a good idea

I'm not running out to buy an SUV.
 
Monday, Jan. 26, 2015

Decluttering, for another new year

Responsible decluttering is a lot harder than the Dumpster version.
 
Monday, Jan. 19, 2015

New store model skips the packaging

Bring your own bags -- and hoppers, bins, tins and jars.
 
Saturday, Jan. 10, 2015

Ox, goats in house? The debate continues

The next house we live in is going to have room for the oxen. Or not.
 
Thursday, Jan. 8, 2015

Birds need high-calorie treats in winter

Hanging suet or peanut butter also helps the birds stay warm and healthy when it's cold.
 
Monday, Jan. 5, 2015

Looking for light in the darkness

Maybe people make resolutions at the new year to remind themselves that it won’t always be like this.
 
Monday, Dec. 15, 2014

'Fox' folk song a lie

My daughter learned a lot about animals from all the songs we sang together. But I am hear to tell you that some of those songs are flat-out lies.
 
Monday, Dec. 8, 2014

Name your own days

Just don't make me go shopping
 
Saturday, Nov. 29, 2014

Seed catalogs stir dreams of next year

The garden is dead. On to next year.
 

columnists & blogs


Log into Dailygazette.com

Forgot Password?

Subscribe

Username:
Password: