The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Mark Mahoney's Your Right to Know
by Mark Mahoney

Your Right to Know

A Daily Gazette opinion blog
An interactive forum for readers on open government issues.
Monday, Nov. 30, 2015

Niskayuna schools tweeting board meeting summaries

Actively reaching out to citizens is good open government policy
Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2015

Confidentiality agreements don't prevent disclosure

Just because a municipality agrees not to disclose information doesn't mean they legally can
Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2015

Legislative bills are easy to access

Get info about pending, approved state legislation online
Monday, Nov. 9, 2015

State gets failing grade on transparency

Report finds public has difficult time getting information
Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2015

Common Core Task Force invites participation

Regional meetings will be held Friday; residents can offer testimony online
Thursday, Oct. 29, 2015

Use campaign finance reports to get informed

Easily accessible reports give voters insight into candidate influences
Thursday, Sept. 3, 2015

Read today's ruling that set Tom Brady free

Judge's decision is public information and available online
Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2015

Read Hillary Clinton's emails

State Department releasing batches of emails from Clinton's tenure as Secretary of State
Thursday, Aug. 6, 2015

Race horse injuries and deaths available online

Three equine deaths at Saratoga on Saturday among those detailed on Gaming Commission website
Wednesday, Aug. 5, 2015

Public to get info on how CEO pay compares to workers'

Disclosure increases transparency, could help rein in excessive executive salaries

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?