The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Mark Mahoney's Your Right to Know
by Mark Mahoney

Your Right to Know

A Daily Gazette opinion blog
An interactive forum for readers on open government issues.
Thursday, Sept. 3, 2015

Read today's ruling that set Tom Brady free

Judge's decision is public information and available online
Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2015

Read Hillary Clinton's emails

State Department releasing batches of emails from Clinton's tenure as Secretary of State
Thursday, Aug. 6, 2015

Race horse injuries and deaths available online

Three equine deaths at Saratoga on Saturday among those detailed on Gaming Commission website
Wednesday, Aug. 5, 2015

Public to get info on how CEO pay compares to workers'

Disclosure increases transparency, could help rein in excessive executive salaries
Thursday, July 30, 2015

Rule change expands public notification requirements for sewer spills

Changes needed to improve public safety
Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Board avoids meeting in front of public

Schenectady Planning Commission actions highlight how government boards try to avoid scrutiny
Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Governor's poll results show need for change

Read Siena poll results in detail
Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Open government bills await governor's signature

Legislation would compel governments to follow law
Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Release of Cosby documents shows limits on privacy

Judge finds public right to access sometimes overrides concerns over "embarrassment"
Thursday, June 4, 2015

Read EPA report on hydrofracking's impact on drinking water

Draft concludes there's been no widespread impact, but potential is there

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?