The Locally Owned Voice of the Capital Region
Mark Mahoney's Your Right to Know
by Mark Mahoney

Your Right to Know

A Daily Gazette opinion blog
An interactive forum for readers on open government issues.
Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Board avoids meeting in front of public

Schenectady Planning Commission actions highlight how government boards try to avoid scrutiny
Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Governor's poll results show need for change

Read Siena poll results in detail
Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Open government bills await governor's signature

Legislation would compel governments to follow law
Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Release of Cosby documents shows limits on privacy

Judge finds public right to access sometimes overrides concerns over "embarrassment"
Thursday, June 4, 2015

Read EPA report on hydrofracking's impact on drinking water

Draft concludes there's been no widespread impact, but potential is there
Tuesday, June 2, 2015

Watch live hearing on FOIA today

Experts to discuss federal transparency law at House committee hearing
Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Cuomo ends email purges

Under pressure from media, governor stops executive departments from automatically erasing emails
Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Gov. Cuomo's secret transparency summit

No details yet about Friday's scheduled forum on open government
Monday, May 18, 2015

Senate Committee to discuss FOIL bill

Legislation would limit government stall tactics in release of public information
Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Voters: School budget info available online

Gazette posting details of budgets. Vote is May 19.

columnists & blogs

Log into

Forgot Password?