Presizniuk’s late goal helps Union tie Quinnipiac, 3-3

Union ties

Another night, another controversial goal at Messa Rink.

This time, it came out in Union’s favor.

Adam Presizniuk batted the puck past goalie Bud Fisher with 2:07 left in the third period Saturday, lifting the Dutchmen to a 3-3 ECAC Hockey tie with 16th-ranked Quinnipiac at Messa Rink.

After Union a timeout with 2:13 left, coach Nate Leaman pulled goalie Corey Milan for an extra skater. Stephane Boileau won a left-circle faceoff, and drew the puck to Mike Schreiber in the high slot. His wrist shot deflected up in the air at the net. Bobcats defenseman Dan Henningson knocked the puck down with his glove, and then Presizniuk hit it home. Referee Bob Ritchie immediately signaled a goal. Quinnipiac protested, claiming Presizniuk’s hit it with a high stick.

After Ritchie consulted with his assistant referees, the call stood.

In Union’s 4-3 win over Princeton on Friday, the Tigers’ Brett Wilson fired a shot past goalie Justin Mrazek in the final seconds and made a loud “ping” sound. But the red light never went on, and play continued until the final buzzer sounded. But after talking it over with assistant referee Stephen Shufelt, referee Dan Murphy ruled it a goal, and 10.8 seconds were put back on the clock.

Presizniuk’s goal made it the second time Union rallied to tie the score. Defensemen Brendan Milnamow and Schreiber scored 1:23 apart midway through the third period.

Bryan Leitch regained the lead for the Bobcats with 8:10 left off of a Milnamow turnover.

Jamie Bates scored Quinnipiac’s first two goals.

The Dutchmen return to action Friday at Messa against Harvard.

Look for complete game coverage in Sunday’s paper, or the Web page. Also, check out my blog with my thoughts on the game.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply