Hasbrouck, Ubiles named to first team

The Siena men’s basketball team put two players on the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference all-confer
Siena College’s Kenny Hasbrouck, left, leaps past Saint Peter’s Nick Leon, right, during a recent MAAC match up at the Times Union Center.
Siena College’s Kenny Hasbrouck, left, leaps past Saint Peter’s Nick Leon, right, during a recent MAAC match up at the Times Union Center.

Categories: Sports

The Siena men’s basketball team put two players on the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference all-conference first team on Monday.

You could make a strong case for a third Saint to have made it.

Junior guard Kenny Hasbrouck and sophomore forward Edwin Ubiles were among the five players named by the MAAC, and soph­omore power forward Alex Franklin was named to the second team.

It was the first time Siena had two first-teamers since 1992-93 (Lee Mathews, Doremus Bennerman), and the first time the MAAC has put two players from the same school on the first team since 1997-98 (Iona’s Kashif Hameed and John McDonald).

“I felt like that’s where they belonged,” Siena head coach Fran McCaffery said. “I think they’re two of the five best players in the league. And I’m happy for both of them. They’ve been amazingly consistent. Eddie’s numbers are just phenomenal. Joe Mihalich said it best; in another year, he’d be a player of the year candidate. I’m not saying he isn’t one now, but it looks to me like [Rider’s Jason] Thompson is going to get that, and probably deserves it.”

MAAC men’s tournament bracket

To view the bracket for the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference men’s basketball tournament, click here.

Rounding out the first team were Thompson; Niagara’s Charron Fisher, the leading scorer in the country; and Loyola’s Gerald Brown. The player of the year will be announced on Thursday during the MAAC tournament.

Ubiles (17.7 points per game), Hasbrouck (15.7) and Franklin (14.7) represent the fourth- , sixth- and eighth-leading scorers, respectively, in the MAAC during the regular season.

Hasbrouck, second-team all-MAAC last year, also led the conference in steals, and Ubiles, the MAAC co-rookie of the year in 2007, led the conference in three-point percentage (45.8). He averaged over 25 points a game the last five games of the season for the top-seeded Saints (19-10), who will play Friday’s Manhattan-Saint Peter’s winner at 4:30 p.m. on Saturday.

“It’s an honor, and I’m thankful for it,” Hasbrouck said. “Eddie’s playing great. I knew he was

going to be on the first team. I kind of thought Alex would be on the first team, also, but he got injured, and that probably kept him off of it. It’s a great honor for both of us, and I think next year there should be three of us.”

“It means a lot,” Ubiles said. “I think I worked hard, and accomplished a lot of things this year. I learned a lot from last year, and worked hard and definitely earned it. I just want to continue to play the way I’ve been playing.”

Franklin, who missed five games in the middle of the season with a back injury, was fourth in rebounding.

“Alexander is certainly right there with anybody on that first team, he and probably Ryan Thompson,” McCaffery said. “It’s almost like a seven-man first team. I don’t know how you distinguish any of those guys, with all due

respect to Jon Han, who had a

phenomenal season.”

Joining Franklin on the second team were Fairfield’s Han, Rider’s Ryan Thompson, Niagara’s Tyrone Lewis and Saint Peter’s Todd


The third team consisted of Loyola’s Michael Tuck, Manhattan’s Antoine Pearson, Marist’s Ryan Stilphen, Niagara’s Stanley Hodge and Rider’s Harris Mansell.

The all-rookie team included Loyola’s Brian Rudolph, Marist’s Jay Gavin, Niagara’s Anthony Nelson, Rider’s Mike Ringgold and Saint Peter’s Wesley Jenkins.

Siena senior forward Laura Menty was named to the women’s first team for the second year in a row.

The leading scorer in the league (19.4 ppg) with the second-best shooting percentage (55.0), she’s a leading candidate for MAAC Player of the Year.

“She’s brilliant,” Siena head coach Gina Castelli said. “She’s the leading scorer, of course, and she’s had some huge games. She’s definitely our player of the year, that’s for sure.”

The Saints’ Shondaya Burrell was named to the third team. She’s

averaging 14.1 ppg, eighth best in the MAAC, 6.1 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game.

Also named to the first team were Fairfield’s Sabrice Wrice, Manhattan’s Caitlin Flood, Marist’s Rachele Fitz and Saint Peter’s Tania Kennedy.

The sixth-seeded Saints will face No. 3 Fairfield at 11:30 Friday morning in the quarterfinals.

The women’s second team consisted of Baendu Lowenthal (Fairfield), Tiara Headen and Anna McLean (Iona) and Nikki Flores and Julianne Viani (Marist).

Joining Burrell on the third team were Amanda Cavo (Canisius).

Gabrielle Cottrell (Manhattan). Sarah Wilson (Niagara) and Johnell Burts (Saint Peter’s).

The women’s all-rookie team consisted of Micayla Drysdale

(Canisius), Candice Walker (Loyola), Erica Allenspach (Marist), Liz Flooks (Niagara) and Charlene Riddick (Saint Peter’s).

Leave a Reply