Mayer MAAC tennis player of year

>Perfect in singles competition,

Siena College junior Sarah Mayer was named the Metro Atlant


Perfect in singles competition,

Siena College junior Sarah Mayer was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference women’s tennis player of the year this week for the second time in the last three years.

Mayer, from Shaker High School, recorded a 7-0 record in MAAC singles events and a 21-6 mark overall. She earned four MAAC player of the week awards this season, and also was named to the MAAC all-conference first team at No. 1 singles.

As a freshman, Mayer was named the MAAC’s player of the year after leading the Saints to their first conference championship and NCAA tournament berth. This year, Mayer became the Saints’ all-time leader in career victories.


Basketball captain and leading scorer Brian Lillis and softball standout Amber Maisonet were presented ECAC Merit Medals at the eighth annual University at Alb­any Great Dane Awards banquet Monday night at SEFCU Arena.

The medals are awarded to the school’s top senior male and female student-athletes who have shown excellence in both the classroom and the athletic fields.

Tennis player Amanda Hall, women’s basketball player Kelly Martinson and lacrosse players Mike Ammann and Steve Ammann

received Presidential Scholar-Athlete Awards.

UAlbany also announced its team MVP awards. In the fall season, Ric­ardo Estremera (men’s cross country), Laura Cummings (women’s cross country), Michelle Simpson (field hockey), Michael Dungey (football), Steward Ceus (men’s soccer), Meghan Garrity (women’s soccer) and Kamisha Kellam (women’s volleyball) earned MVP honors, while Lillis (men’s basketball), Gia Sanders (women’s basketball), Jean Just and David Parker (men’s indoor track and field) and Laura Cummings and Jenn Gurrant (women’s indoor track and field) took home MVP plaques for the winter season.

Spring sport MVP awards were won by Brendan Rowland (baseball), Corrin Conroy (women’s golf), Jordan Levine (men’s

lacrosse), Kayla Best and Sara Wolfe (women’s lacrosse), Mais­onet, Meagan Butsch and Leah McIntosh (softball) and Charlotte Tatler (women’s tennis).


u Union is the top seed and will host the ECAC Upstate softball championship this weekend. The 29-6 Dutchwomen will take on the winner of today’s Oneonta State-Medaille game Saturday at 10 a.m. at Alexander Field. Other teams in the field are RPI (26-11) and Alfred (22-11). The tournament continues through Sunday.

u Union is also the top seed and host for the ECAC Upstate lacrosse championship. The Dutchmen

(12-4) will host fourth-seeded Naz­areth (8-6) Thursday at 4 p.m. on Frank Bailey Field. St. John Fisher (11-4) meets RIT (10-7) in Rochester in the other semifinal. The winners play Sunday at the highest remaining seed.

u Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake graduate Brittany Dexter helped Sacred Heart win its first Northeast Conference outdoor track and field championship on Sunday. Dexter, a sophomore, won the high jump for the second straight year with a leap of 1.70 meters.

u Mohonasen High School graduate Lindsay Coons, a SUNY-Cortland and USA national team competitor in handball, helped the SUNY-Cortland club team win the national championship at West Point last month.

u Union men’s lacrosse players Jon Miller and Chris Keinath were named to the Graph-Tex Division III New York state second team.

u Skidmore freshman Carl-Eric Giardin was named the Liberty League men’s tennis player of the year, while the Thoroughbreds’ coaching staff, led by head coach Nate Simms, was named the league’s coaching staff of the year. In women’s tennis, Skidmore’s

Rachel Loeb was named the Liberty League’s co-rookie of the year.

u Keene State’s Katie Allen­son, a junior third baseman from Shenendehowa, was named to the All-Little East Conference softball first team. Allenson leads the Owls in hitting (.479), home runs (six) and RBI (34).

Categories: Sports


No Comment.