Mayne, Feldman seek Gazette Best Ball repeat

Pat Mayne, who won last year’s Gazette Women’s Best Ball Championship with partner Karen Feldman of

Pat Mayne, who won last year’s Gazette Women’s Best Ball Championship with partner Karen Feldman of Olde Kinderhook, is in top form to repeat.

“I just got back from the Women’s Eastern Golf Association Champ­ionships at Dupont Country Club in Wilmington, Del., last week, and I played pretty well,” said Mayne, who carries a 3 handicap. “I went in ranked 50th, and that’s where I ended up, but that’s a little deceiving because the handicaps ranged all the way from a plus-2.7. There were a lot of really good college kids playing, and the winner was just one or two over par.”

Mayne had better have her “A” game because this year’s Gazette Women’s Best Ball Championship, which tees off with an 8 a.m. shotgun start Saturday at Schenectady Municipal Golf Course, has a talented field of 51 teams.

“Everything seems to be coming together in my game this year. I’m much more accurate, and I’m looking forward to see how my game is at Schenecady Municipal,” said Mayne, a former Northeastern Women’s Golf Association champion who plays out of Pinehaven Country Club.

Mayne and Feldman have won numerous partners events over the last couple of seasons, including back-to-back Capital District Women’s Open titles. But after dominating local women’s golf in 2006, Mayne wasn’t happy with her 2007 season. She went back to instructor Herb Moreland of Western Turnpike Golf Club, and worked on her lag putting. She found out that she was standing too far from the ball and that she wasn’t lined up correctly when she putted. After

her golf game got a tuneup, she finished strong, and her game has remained in top shape all spring.

That spells danger for the rest of the teams in the field, but there are plenty of challengers.

Leslie Arakelian, also of Pinehaven CC, and partner Mary Sicard of Queensbury Country Club have a combined handicap of 10, which is four strokes higher than the Mayne-Feldman tandem.

“I’m really looking forward to playing,” said Arakelian, a five-time NEWGA titlist. “But I’m just coming off a neck injury. This will be one of my first tournaments back. I haven’t been playing much.”

Betsy Drambour and Sue Del­anoy, both of Ballston Spa Country Club, won the Gazette Women’s Best Ball crown in 2006, and with a combined 13 handicap, this duo should be competitive once again. The long-hitting Drambour was a four-time Gazette Women’s Amat­eur winner on her own ball.

Sue Kahler and Suzie Mansfield, another Ballston Spa CC tandem, should be high on the leaderboard. The former Capital District Women’s Open winners combine to form one of the most consistent teams over the last couple of decades. Kahler had a banner season a year ago, and won her first NEWGA title.

Mary Ellen Burt, head women’s basketball coach at Union, is also a former Gazette Women’s Best Ball champ with a different partner. This season, she’s teaming up with Elaine Sauers of Wolferts Roost Country Club. Sauers, with regular partner Mary Jo Kelly, has won more major best-ball tourn­aments than anyone in the Capital Region.

Other top teams include Chan Lee with Ella Kelloge, Donna Nev­ulis with Kathy Harkins and Kate Op­pedisano with Daina Ramos.

There will be two flights with net and gross prizes in each.


1A — Mayne-Feldman; Arakelian-Sicard.

1B — Drambour-Delanoy; Mansfield-Kahler.

4A — Burt-Sauers; Lee-Kelloge.

4B — Schiek-Sundberg; Trapasso-Gabel.

5A — Nevulis-Harkins; Oppedisano-


5B — Lawson-A. Jorgensen; Lloyd-


6A — G. Wyand-Tucker; Whalen-Lafleur.

6B — Naftzger-Andrews; Sherlock-Wolcott.

7A — Poulin-Carroll; Van Buren-Milos.

7B — Assey-Taylor; Pappas-Couch.

8A — Gerrity-Warczak; VanAlstine-


8B — Crowley-Greenwood; Walkanowski-Joseph.

9A — Martin-Stack; Gold-Mason.

9B — Cheon-Lee; Mysliborski-Giacobbe.

10A — Adams-Petrake; Weckter-Good­ale.

10B — Mantas-Dugan; Chiffolo-O’Hare.

11A — N. Ryan-Clark; Aiello-Carroll.

11B — Blau-Mahoney; Starzenski-Hall.

12A —Tauzel-Cavanaugh; Bramley-


12B —Sundling-Czelusniak; Lampman-Reynolds.

13A —F. Wayand-Cottrell; Upjohn-Henderson.

13B – Sheehan-Rizzo; Blaha-Rossettie.

14A — Sacks-Yee; Verno-Tuszynski.

15A — Senich-Carrara-Hoorwitz-Nadler,

16A — Hoopes-Cross.

18A — J. Bryce-Saplin; D. Bryce-Guynup.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply