Four vie for Caroga position

While most Fulton County voters will be focusing this year on electing a new president, for the seco

While most Fulton County voters will be focusing this year on electing a new president, for the second consecutive year town of Caroga residents will elect a new town supervisor.

The race for Caroga supervisor, which already has three Republican candidates and one Democrat, is arguably the most significant contest among the five to be decided this November in Fulton County.

Candidates from major parties will file candidacy petitions all next week at the Fulton County Board of Elections. The filing deadline is July 10.

Circumstances created the need for the back-to-back elections in Caroga.

After Republican Gary W. Gifford Sr. last November defeated Democrat John J. McCarthy, 238-136, Gifford suddenly resigned for personal reasons over the winter.

In March, the Town Board appointed Robert Kane, a Republican.

This year, Kane has to run to retain his post. He will first have to win a Republican primary that already includes challengers James Selmser and Ralph Ottuso.

The winner will face Democrat Ronald McLain in the general election.

McLain has run for that office several times in the past.

McLain said he decided to run after the Town Board appointed Kane, who had never sought the post. “They went out and got their hand-picked candidate and brought him in,” McLain said.

“We’re going to rattle the cage, if we can,” McLain said of his own candidacy.

McLain said he believes the Town Board could do more to improve the town.

Selmser, whose family has owned property in Caroga since 1920, said as a retired corporate accountant he can be of value to the town.

Ottuso and Kane could not be reached for comment.

Elsewhere in the county, elections will be held to fill the town clerk vacancy in Broadalbin; select a town justice in Ephratah and seat a water board commissioner in both Gloversville and Johnstown.

Kimberly Verrego, appointed to the Broadalbin vacancy, is running against fellow Republican Joseph McDonald.

Incumbent Ephratah Justice Joseph Dickerson Sr., a Republican, is so far running unopposed for re-election, as are Johnstown water commissioner Nick Cannizzo and Gloversville water commissioner Wayne R. McCann.

Independent party candidates must file their petitions in August.

Categories: Schenectady County

Leave a Reply