Siena’s Franklin MAAC Player of the Year

Senior Alex Franklin won the MAAC men's basketball player of the year

ALBANY – Siena senior power forward Alex Franklin of Reading, Pa., was named MAAC men’s basketball player of the year tonight.

Franklin was one of five finalists, along with teammates Ronald Moore and Ryan Rossier, Ryan Thompson of Rider and Anthony Johnson of Fairfield.

The women’s player of the year was Rachele Fitz of Marist, the first-ever three-time winner.

The respective men’s and women’s coaches of the year were Iona’s Kevin Willard and Niagara’s Kendra Faustin.

Other awards:

Men – Rookie of the year, Fairfield’s Derek Needham; Defensive player of the year, Johnson; Sixth man, Fairfield’s Mike Evanovich.

Women – Rookie of the year, Niagara’s Kayla Stroman; Defensive player of the year, Fairfield’s Stephanie Geehan; Sixth man, Niagara’s Ali Morris.

Categories: -Sports-

Leave a Reply