Milone takes Schoharie; most incumbents win countywide

Most incumbents were returned to office across Schoharie County Tuesday night, but the town of Schoh

Most incumbents were returned to office across Schoharie County Tuesday night, but the town of Schoharie will have a new supervisor.

Democrat Gene Milone defeated Republican Martin Shrederis’ bid for an eighth term, with 52 percent of the vote, according to unoffi cial results. Milone, who had been on the council for four years, was running on a platform of lobbying for a new county nursing home, opposing hydrofracking and rebuilding infrastructure hit by the fl ooding from Tropical Storm Irene.

“If we’re not capable of getting that village back on its feet in the short term, then in the long term it’s going to affect everybody,” he said.

Milone said he believes that voters were attracted to his message of bringing a new energy into the position.

“We have some people who are on the board that have been there for a long time. Sometimes — not always — I have felt that they have forgotten what their purpose is,” he said.

James Schultz, who had the Republican, Democrat and Monkey Wrench parties, was the top votegetter for Town Board with 648 votes. Republican Richard Sherman narrowly edged out Democrat Patricia Conboy 398 votes to 373.

In Fulton, Democratic Supervisor Philip R. Skowfoe prevailed in his bid for an eighth two-year term in a three-way contest with more votes than Republican Timothy J. Hardendorf and Conservative Maryann Pietromonaco combined.

Skowfoe ran on his record of fiscal management and using surplus funds to repair damaged roads and infrastructure. He received 229 votes compared with 114 for Hardendorf, who served as supervisor from 1985 to 1997, and 112 for Pietromonaco, who ran on a platform of open and honest government.

Skowfoe said he was grateful for the support and said his top issue is rebuilding from the fl ooding.

“I feel you need to focus on putting your community back together. I’m just thankful I had the surplus to carry us through,” he said.

Republicans James Heiser and Richard Mix beat Democrats Carrie M. Bowman and Anne Kovac for two seats on the Town Board.

In Richmondville, voters overwhelmingly chose to keep Republican Richard “Dick” Lape in the job he has filled since November 2010 following the resignation of John Barlow. Lape received 388 votes compared with Democrat Scott Bennett’s 161.

Lape said during the campaign he wanted to continue with the town’s ongoing projects and rebuilding infrastructure damaged by fl ooding.

Bennett, who had lost to Barlow in 2009 by one vote, ran on a platform of controlling spending and regulating hydrofracking.

Republicans Eric Haslun and Todd C. Sperbeck swept both council seats over Democrat Vernon F. Hall.

Middleburgh will have a new supervisor. James S. Buzon was elected to his first term with 53 percent of the vote compared with David Lloyd’s 47 percent. Incumbent Dennis Richards chose not to seek re-election.

During the campaign, both candidates agreed on several issues including building a new nursing home in the county. Buzon said he opposed hydrofracking but wanted to help rebuild the community and attract a new grocery store to the area.

Republicans Susan C. Makely and Frank Herodes won the two Town Board seats.

Elsewhere, longtime Republican Blenheim Supervisor Robert Mann Jr. easily won election to his 10th term with 80 votes compared with Democratic challenger Ralph Arrandale’s 42.

Democrat Chester Keyser and Joseph Ward, who was endorsed by both parties, won election to fouryear terms on the Town Board.

In Carlisle, Republican incumbent Larry R. Bradt won his fi fth term, defeating Democratic challenger Linda K. Cross by capturing 58 percent of the vote.

During the campaign, Bradt said his priority was rebuilding from the flooding and holding the line on taxes. Cross was focusing on improving communication with residents and improving disaster preparedness. Republicans Mary Tillapaugh and Kevin E. Sisson captured both Town Board seats over Democrat and Open Country candidate Michael Benton, and 2nd Guess candidate David A. Jones III.

In Cobleskill, Democratic Supervisor Tom Murray easily was re-elected to his second term, holding off a challenge from Republican candidate Kenneth R. Hotopp with 57 percent of the vote. His platform was rebuilding infrastructure from the floods and working to extend water and sewer service along Route 7 to help attract new businesses.

Republicans Linda D. Angell and Alan E. Rubin captured two seats on the Town Board.

In Wright, Republican Town Supervisor Bill Goblet was reelected to his second term, defeating Democratic challenger and Town Board member Jean Burton with 66 percent of the vote. Goblet said previously he is focusing on infrastructure and continuing to be frugal.

Republicans Frederick W. Martin and Alex K. Luniewski captured both Town Board seats over Democrats Kevin Moody and Edward A. Thornton.

In the Schoharie County clerk’s race, Republican M. Indica Jaycox easily won her second full four-year term, beating Democratic challenger Gary R. Hayes 64 percent to 36 percent.

In other contested races:

Democrat Dave Simkins led all candidates with 145 votes to win a seat on the Broome Town Board. Democrat Jeremy Dupont and Republican Joe Piscatella were tied with 111 votes apiece for the second seat.

In Conesville, Republicans Kelly Smith and Ronald Berry won the two Town Board seats.

In Esperance, Brian R. Largeteau and Timothy S. Rank won two Town Board seats.

In Jefferson, Republicans Russell H. Danforth and Margaret A. Hait captured the two Town Board seats.

In Seward, Democrats Kevin Collins and Nancy Kniskern won two seats on the Town Board.

In Sharon, Republicans Carl D. Ullman and Brian R. Young won two seats on the Town Board.

Also, voters approved a proposition to increase the annual operating budget of the Sharon Springs Free Library by $5,000 to $43,000 per year.

Categories: Schenectady County

Leave a Reply