Saratoga County

Saratoga Springs school one of 19 in state to win national award

Lake Avenue Elementary School is one of 19 New York State schools to win a 2012 National Blue Ribbon

Lake Avenue Elementary School is one of 19 New York State schools to win a 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools award, it was announced today by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan.

The blue ribbon award, which is given by the U.S. Department of Education, sets a standard of excellence for all schools striving for the highest level of achievement.

Lake Avenue, one of six elementary schools in the Saratoga Springs City School District, applied for the recognition last March after being nominated by the state Education Department.

View video

View video of Lake Avenue Elementary School students rehearsing for a Flag Day Program in June. Click HERE.

Barbara Messier, Lake Avenue principal, said the faculty and staff are honored to receive the award. She said the award represents recognition not only for her school, but for the outstanding educational programs offered district-wide.

“It’s only through the support of all the elementary schools and the district’s entire educational team that the light has shined on us,” Messier said in a prepared statement.

“It’s truly a team award for the students, parents, faculty, and staff throughout the Saratoga Springs City School District,” she said.

Michael Piccirillo, superintendent of schools, concurred that the award is a testament to the exemplary educational programs not only at Lake Avenue, but district-wide.

“It’s a wonderful accomplishment for Lake Avenue, and also reflects the hard work and focus on student achievement in all our schools,” Piccirillo said.

Messier thanked special education teacher Pam Noska, reading specialist Laura Frederick and second-grade teacher Mary Goliber, who spent many hours helping to prepare and review the Blue Ribbon application.

Messier and Noska will attend a recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C., on Nov. 12-13, where the Department of Education will honor approximately 219 public and 50 private schools.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply