Orb draws rail for 138th Preakness

Derby winner even-money favorite

Kentucky Derby winner Orb drew the dreaded No. 1 post in a nine-horse field for Saturday’s 138th running of the Preakness at Pimlico.

Since 1961, the only Preakness winner from that post position was Tabasco Cat, in 1994.

Orb, trained by Shug McGaughey, will again be ridden by Joel Rosario, and is the even-money favorite on the morning line.

The field, in post position order, with jockeys, trainers and odds:

1. Orb (Joel Rosario, Shug McGaughey), 1-1

2. Goldencents (Kevin Krigger, Doug O’Neill), 8-1

3. Titletown Five (Julien Leparoux, D. Wayne Lukas), 30-1

4. Departing (Brian Hernandez, Al Stall Jr.), 6-1

5. Mylute (Rosie Napravnik, Tom Amoss), 5-1

6. Oxbow (Gary Stevens, D. Wayne Lukas), 15-1

7. Will Take Charge (Mike Smith, D. Wayne Lukas), 12-1

8. Govenor Charlie (Martin Garcia, Bob Baffert), 12-1

9. Itsmyluckyday (John Velazquez, Eddie Plesa Jr.), 10-1

Categories: -Sports

Leave a Reply