Siena’s Bisping an all-MAAC first-team selection

Brett Bisping and Nico Clareth got one “really” each. Javion Ogunyemi got three.
Siena senior Brett Bisping was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference all-conference first team on Monday.
Siena senior Brett Bisping was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference all-conference first team on Monday.

Brett Bisping and Nico Clareth got one “really” each.

Javion Ogunyemi got three.

Siena men’s basketball coach Jimmy Patsos was pleased to see that three of his players were recognized with all-MAAC honors on Monday, but especially for Ogunyemi, the Troy High School graduate who nearly was denied an active roster spot by the NCAA this season and has been one of the most productive and important players on the team.

The 6-foot-9 junior forward’s numbers speak for themselves, but Patsos said he was “really, really, really happy” to see Ogunyemi picked for the second team because it’s not always easy for people outside the program to see what a real impact a player has had.

The all-MAAC teams are voted on by the conference coaches.

“I want to thank the coaches for recognizing how much

Javion helped us lead with Marquis being out with an injury,” Patsos said. “I wasn’t sure if the other coaches would notice.”

Siena, which will open the MAAC tournament at 7 p.m. Saturday against Marist or Manhattan, compiled a 13-7 conference record, good for third place, and 20-11 overall despite losing starting point guard Marquis Wright for 15 games with a broken foot.

Ogunyemi led the MAAC and is 39th in the U.S. with 2.1 blocks per game; was 11th in the MAAC in scoring at 15.1 points per game; and somehow managed to grab 6.3 rebounds a game despite the presence of Bisping, who was named to the first team after leading the MAAC in rebounds at 10.4 per game.

The freshman Clareth, almost exclusively off the bench, averaged 13.1 points and was named to the all-rookie team.

Ogunyemi nearly had to sit out the season because of transfer rules, but the NCAA took into account the unique nature of his case and ruled that he could play.

One of Siena’s most improved players last year as a sophomore, he has made the most of his junior season so far.

“He’s been huge for this team,” Bisping said. “He’s brought pretty consistent play, and he’s a force inside, a shot blocker. We can get him the ball inside, and he scores. He’s playing great, and we’re very happy and lucky to have him.”

By virtue of being named to the first team, Bisping is a candidate for MAAC Player of the Year, which will be announced Friday.

He and Iona’s A.J. English and Monmouth’s Justin Robinson were unanimous first-team picks by the MAAC coaches.

The first team also includes Marcus Gilbert of Fairfield and Manhattan sharpshooter Shane Richards.

Two Siena women earned postseason honors — sophomore Kollyns Scarbrough, who was named to the second team, and freshman Jackie Benitez, who made the all-rookie team.

The seventh-seeded Saints open the women’s tournament with a first-round game against No. 10 Rider at 11:30 a.m. on Thursday.


First team: Marcus Gilbert (Fairfield), A.J. English (Iona), Shane Richards (Manhattan), Justin Robinson (Monmouth), Brett Bisping (Siena).

Second team: Tyler Nelson (Fairfield), Jordan Washington (Iona), Khallid Hart (Marist), Quadir Welton (Saint Peter’s), Trevis Wyche (Saint Peter’s), Javion Ogunyemi (Siena).

Third team: Deon Jones (Monmouth), Micah Seaborn (Monmouth), Matt Scott (Niagara), Teddy Okereafor (Rider), Kahlil Thomas (Rider).

All Rookie: Curtis Cobb (Fairfield), Brian Parker (Marist), Micah Seaborn (Monmouth), Antwon Portley (Saint Peter’s), Nico Clareth (Siena).


First team: Kristin Schatzlein (Fairfield), Joy Adams (Iona), Marina Lizarazu (Iona), Sydney Coffey (Marist), Tori Jarosz (Marist).

Second team: Crystal Porter (Canisius), Amani Tatum (Manhattan), Sarah Olson (Monmouth), Sam Lapszynski (Niagara), Maria Napolitano (Quinnipiac), Robin Perkins (Rider), Kollyns Scarbrough (Siena).

Third team: Kelsey Carey (Fairfield), Casey Smith (Fairfield), Jamiyah Bethune (Monmouth), Aryn McClure (Quinnipiac), Sajanna Bethea (Saint Peter’s).

All Rookie: Maria Welch (Canisius), Alexis Lewis (Iona), Aryn McClure (Quinnipiac), Paula Strautmane (Quinnipiac), Jackie Benitez (Siena).

Categories: College Sports

Leave a Reply