Ballston Spa

2 Democrats claim Ballston Spa seats

Village board has been all Republican for decades
Shamus Werther of Ballston Spa casts his vote at the Eagle Matt Lee Firehouse on Tuesday, March 21, 2017.
Shamus Werther of Ballston Spa casts his vote at the Eagle Matt Lee Firehouse on Tuesday, March 21, 2017.

Mayor John Romano, a Republican, walked into a crowded Village Hall and shook hands with Noah Shaw and Shawn Raymond, two Democrats who ran a busy campaign for village trustee. 

The longtime mayor said congratulations to both. 

“I guess we won,” a smiling Shaw said.

The mayor later confirmed the win for Shaw and Raymond, who will become the first Democrats to serve on the village’s board in many years. Shaw received 423 votes and Raymond received 413 to beat out incumbent Republican Ronald Henry, with 370 votes, and Bruce Couture, 358 votes, a Republican who resigned from the Milton Town Board in February to run for the seat. The other Republican incumbent, Courtney Mancini, did not seek re-election. 

“I’m excited that the village was so engaged and that twice as many people voted this time as last time,” said Shaw, 40, who works as general counsel for the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority and campaigned on a pledge to clean up the contaminated Rickett’s Dry Cleaning site on Route 50. “I think that’s indicative of good things to come in terms of an open conversation between village residents and the board.”

“I didn’t take anything for granted,” said Raymond, a 19-year village resident and a civil engineer. “I’m happy with the results and I hope I can fulfill my position and represent Ballston Spa to the best of my ability.”

He and Raymond vowed during their campaign to make Village Hall more transparent and better engage the community with advisory councils, a new website, social media outreach, digitally recorded meetings and a clearer budget process.

Shaw also said from inside the cramped meeting room that he would look to find alternative locations to hold village meetings. 

They attributed the win to a hard-fought campaign with a lot of door-knocking.

“In small part, I think there’s a renewed activism or participation in government, and I think maybe some of that got blown our way,” Raymond added.

According to Ellie Dillon, the town of Milton Democratic chairwoman, there has not been a Democrat on the village board in the 42 years she has lived in Ballston Spa. 

Village Justice Michael Morrisey, a Republican, retained his seat, topping Erika Tebbens, a Democrat and small business owner, by 69 votes.

The village race was one of three that were contested in Saratoga County. 

In Schuylerville, residents elected a new mayor. Daniel Carpenter, a Democrat, received 174 votes to top Jason Young, a Republican, who received 143 votes. Carpenter will take over for longtime Mayor John Sherman, who did not seek re-election. 

In South Glens Falls, Republican Harry Gutheil was the winner in the three-way race for mayor, receiving 290 votes during Tuesday’s election to top the current mayor, Joseph Orlow, by 30 votes. Orlow ran on the “Just Joe Orlow” independent line after the local GOP gave its endorsement to Gutheil.

Brigid Martin, a Democrat, received 43 votes.

The two seats on the village board went to the two Republican candidates, Nicholas Bodkin and incumbent Anthony Girard, over Green Party candidate Christine Elms.

In Schenectady County’s village of Delanson, Gayle Gifford was re-elected mayor over Joshua Menzies, 42-10. 

Saratoga County

Ballston Spa

Trustee (2 seats)

Noah Shaw (Democrat): 423
Shawn Raymond (Democrat): 413
Ron Henry (Republican — incumbent): 370
Bruce Couture (Republican): 358

Justice (one seat)

Michael Morrisey (Republican — incumbent): 432
Erika Tebbens (Democrat): 363

South Glens Falls


Harry Gutheil (Republican): 290
Joseph Orlow (Just Joe Orlow — incumbent): 260
Brigid Martin (Democrat): 43

Trustee (2 seats)

Nicholas Bodkin (Republican): 439
Anthony Girard (Republican — incumbent): 380
Christine Elms (Green): 244



Daniel Carpenter (Democrat): 174
Jason Young (Republican): 143

Trustee (2 seats)

Nicole Proctor (Republican, Democrat): 267
Bryan Drew (Democrat): 199
James Miers (Republican — incumbent): 116

Schenectady County



Gayle Gifford (Civic Pride — incumbent): 42
Joshua Menzies (Family Pride): 10


Joshua O’Connor (New Beginnings): 41

Categories: News, Schenectady County


No Comment.