Section II baseball bracket analysis: Class B

Top seed Saratoga Central Catholic riding 7-game winning streak
Saratoga Central Catholic is the top seed in Class B.
Saratoga Central Catholic is the top seed in Class B.

Seeds for the Section II Class B baseball tournament were released Tuesday. Let’s break down the field.

View from the top

Saratoga Central Catholic won the Wasaren League championship in its first year in the league. The 17-win Saints are a well-rounded squad and bring a seven-game winning streak into the postseason.

Best of the rest

No. 2 Hudson and No. 3 Ichabod Crane each got through league play with only one loss. Hudson is a Patroon Conference competitor, while Ichabod Crane is a Colonial Council club.

A year ago

Class B had a split sectional in 2016, crowning both Class BB and B champions before those two winners played each other to advance into the state tournament. Schalmont beat Saratoga Central Catholic in the BB championship and Hoosic Valley beat Coxsackie-Athens in the B final. Then, Schalmont topped Hoosic Valley.

Don’t be surprised if . . . 

No. 5 Schuylerville makes a run to the title game. The Black Horses have found ways to win close games all year and have several quality wins on their resume.

Update: Schuylerville could not find a way to win another close game Tuesday. The Black Horses lost 8-7 to No. 12 Johnstown.

Keep your eyes on . . .

Terel Tillman does a lot of everything for Saratoga Central Catholic. The sophomore hit .477 at the plate and registered a 0.76 ERA on the mound. Tillman struck out 62 batters in 36 2-3 innings of pitching.

The schedule

Tuesday, May 16

First round

At higher seed

14-Glens Falls vs. 3-Ichabod Crane, 4 p.m.; 13-Broadalbin-Perth vs. 4-Coxsackie-Athens, 6:30 p.m.; 12-Johnstown vs. 5-Schuylerville, 4 p.m.; 11-Catskill vs. 6-Voorheesville, 4 p.m.; 10-Fonda vs. 7-Albany Academy, 4 p.m.; 9-Ravena vs. 8-Tamarac, 4 p.m.

Thursday, May 18


At higher seed, 4 p.m.

Ravena/Tamarac vs. 1-Saratoga Central Catholic; Fonda/Albany Academy vs. 2-Hudson; remaining first-round winners.

Saturday, May 20


At Gloversville, 1 and 4 p.m.

Wednesday, May 24


At Bruno Stadium, 4 p.m.

Other brackets

Categories: -Sports-, High School Sports

Leave a Reply