Girard III state Class B POY

Glens Falls junior set New York scoring record
Glens Falls junior Joseph Girard III is the New York State Sportswriters Associaion Class B Player of the Year.
Glens Falls junior Joseph Girard III is the New York State Sportswriters Associaion Class B Player of the Year.

Section II’s streak of earning at least one boys’ basketball player of the year award by the New York State Sportswriters Association reached six years with Joseph Girard III’s selection.

The NYSSA announced today that the junior guard from Glens Falls had secured the honor as the top Class B performer after he was selected to the all-state first team as a sophomore and freshman.

Girard III’s selection was all but a foregone conclusion. He set the state career scoring record this season and averaged 50 points per game, and was previously tabbed the Gatorade New York Player of the Year as well as the USA Today New York Player of the Year. He has been offered scholarships by 25 Division I colleges including Duke, Syracuse, Ohio State and Michigan.

Girard III scored a state-record 1,149 points in 23 games, and upped his varsity career total to 3,306 points while passing Lance Stephenson (2,946) on the all-time New York list. The three-time Daily Gazette All-Area first-team pick had two games with 60 points, knocked down 12 3-point baskets in another, and went 25-for-25 from the line in another.

Section II’s recent string of NYSSA POY award winners includes Joey Lufkin of Argyle (Class D 2013), Joel Wincowski of Lake George (Class C 2013, Class C 2015), John Rooney of Hoosic Valley (Class C 2014), Joe Cremo of Scotia-Glenville (Class A 2014, co-Class A 2015), Kevin Huerter of Shenendehowa (Class AA 2016), Hameir Wright of Albany Academy (co-Class A 2016, Class A 2017) and Kobe Lufkin of Argyle (co-Class D 2017).

Seniors Jordan Jackson and Deonte Holder of state Class B champion Mekeel Christian Academy made the all-state Class B second and third team, respectively. Senior Caleb Scrime of state Class C champ Lake George landed a first-team spot.

The all-state Class AA and Class A teams will be announced next week.


Joseph Girard III (Glens Falls), 11, 6-1, 50.0 (Player of the Year); Jordan Jackson (Mekeel Christian Academy), 12, 6-2, 18.5 (second team); Deonte Holder (Mekeel Christian Academy), 12, 5-11, 18.8 (third); Shane O’Dell (Schalmont), 10, 6-4, 24.0 (sixth); Carter Stewart (Mekeel Christian Academy), 12, 6-5, 16.2 (seventh); Joey Atkins (Watervliet), 12, 6-2, 19.7 (10th); Justice Brantley (Catskill), 11, 6-1, 18.7 (13th); Stratton Sherman (Schuylerville), 11, 6-2, 15.6 (13th). Honorable mention: Russell Beck (Taconic Hills, 12); Brennan Loder (Cobleskill-Richmondville, 12); Troy Monroe (Broadalbin-Perth, 12); Jesse O’Dell (Schalmont, 12); Joey Saia (Voorheesville, 11); Justin Worth (Catskill, 12).


Caleb Scrime (Lake George), 12, 6-3, 15.6 (first); Mason Flatley (Lake George), 11, 6-3, 14.8 (second); Guy Milliman (Hoosick Falls), 12, 5-7, 14.3 (fourth); Peyton Olsen (Middleburgh), 12, 6-1, 28.4 (fourth); Alex Jones (Lake George), 12, 5-9, 15.6 (fifth); Chris Becker (Lake George), 11, 6-7, 14.8 (sixth); Cole Ackerman (Greenville), 12, 5-9, 23.6 (eighth); Mitch Barton (Schoharie), 12, 6-0, 18.1 (ninth). Honorable mention: Connor Backus (Hadley-Luzerne, 12); Trevon Gifford (Mayfield,12); Tyler Haraden (Saratoga Central Catholic, 12); Slade Pulliam (Berne-Knox-Westerlo, 12); Luke VanSlyke (Canajoharie, 11); Thor White (Galway, 12).


Evan St. Claire (Whitehall), 12, 6-1, 26.0 (second); Devyn Jones (Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville), 12, 6-2, 19.0 (fourth); Peyton Lufkin (Argyle), 10, 5-7, 26.5 (fifth); Jack Brundage (Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville), 11, 6-0, 6.9 (seventh). Honorable mention: Wyatt Gibbons (Germantown, 12); Daniel Kellenbenz (Germantown, 11); Anthony Miller (Fort Edward, 12); Dawson Procella (Whitehall, 12); Jaxson Yacowenia (Fort Plain, 11).

Reach Gazette Sportswriter Jim Schiltz at 518-395-3143, [email protected] or @jim_schiltz on Twitter.

Categories: High School Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply