Capital Region

Montgomery County sheriff and other area race results

A look at some races around the region, including Gifford's victory in Scotia mayor race

Montgomery County was primed Tuesday night to welcome a new sheriff to town: Jeff Smith.

Smith pulled away from opponent James Glorioso as the results trickled in Tuesday night, taking 75 percent of the vote as of 11:15 p.m., with all precincts reported in unofficial results from Montgomery County.

“It’s a dream I’ve had for a long time, Smith said Tuesday night. “We worked extremely hard, and we are just honored the people have decided to give us a chance.”

Smith, 49, a former county undersheriff, will replace outgoing Sheriff Mike Amato, who served for 21 years and announced his retirement in April. He said he looked forward to filling the role as a community leader focused on public safety.

Also online

At around 10:30 p.m. Tuesday, Glorioso said it was still too early to know which way the race was headed and raised concerns about whether the election was fair, pointing to a complaint he filed earlier this week with the county Board of Elections claiming he wasn’t given a chance to inspect the polling systems. He also suggested news reports were timed to harm his candidacy.

“A lot of it was manipulated into making sure I wasn’t successful,” Glorioso said Tuesday night.

The race became contentious after an investigator connected to Smith turned up anomalies in Glorioso’s nominating petitions, and Glorioso was ultimately charged with a felony count of filing a false document.

Smith said Tuesday night he didn’t want to comment about Glorioso, but he said he thought the results were clear.

“I think it appears pretty clear the people have spoken, and I certainly respect the people of this county,” Smith said.

And Scotia has a new mayor: Democrat Thomas Gifford, with nearly 59 percent of the unofficial vote, beat Republican Loretta Rigney. Gifford is set to replace retiring incumbent Kris Kastberg, who has held the seat for a decade.

The new mayor will be joined by Josephe Rizo and Heather Gray, who led the field of candidates up for two seats on the Village Board.

Here’s a look at how other local races across the region panned out Tuesday night (results are unofficial until certified):


Incumbent Town Justice Jennifer McPhail claimed more than 55 percent of the vote to win re-election against challenger John Lockwood.


Michelle VanWoeart, who scored endorsements from both the Republican and Democratic parties, garnered 53 percent of the vote, ousting incumbent Town Justice Norm Miller.


With three alderman seats on the ballot, and the unofficial results fully reported, Republican Patrick Russo held a lead against Democrat Pamela Swart in the First Ward; Democrat Irene Collins led Arthur Iannuzzi in the Third Ward; and, Democrat David Dybas held a 17-vote margin against Republican Stephen Gomula in the Fourth Ward.

Montgomery County

Republican Brittany Kolbe pulled away in the county clerk’s race, with nearly 55 percent of the vote against Democrat Helen Bartone.


Brian Lavine, with just over 51 percent of the vote, narrowly won a Town Board seat against Bruce Wetsell. In an even more narrow race, Howard Burt Jr. appeared to beat out Thomas Johnstone by a five-vote margin for a Village Board seat.


Republican Alan Tavenner claimed the town supervisor seat, with 68 percent of the vote against Virginia Kintz.


Republican Stephen Gerhardt, with around 58 percent of the vote, defeated John Meaney to claim the town justice seat.


Charlton voters supported a proposal to establish the Town of Charlton Ambulance District, with 55 percent of voters in favor, authorizing the Town Board to set an annual tax to fund new ambulance services.

Republican Penny Heritage and David Robbins appeared to have locked in Town Board seats, with most precincts reported.


Michael Ginley won the town justice race with 56 percent of the vote and all precincts reported.

Also online

Categories: News


No Comment.