Ballston Spa’s Kersch earns state award

Junior shares Class A player of the year honor
Lauren Kersch pitches during the 2019 season.
Lauren Kersch pitches during the 2019 season.

Ballston Spa junior Lauren Kersch shared the Class A softball player of the year award with Williamsville East sophomore Summer Clark for the 2019 season, the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls Sports announced last weekend.

Both pitchers, Kersch and Clark squared off in the Class A state championship game, as Ballston Spa’s season ended with a 3-0 loss.

After missing all of the 2018 season with an injury, Kersch went 19-4 with a 1.33 ERA and 210 strikeouts in 163 2-3 innings. Offensively, Kersch had a .400 on-base percentage and 24 RBIs. 

Memorably, Kersch pitched all 20 innings of Ballston Spa’s 2-1 win against Sayville in the state semifinals. Kersch struck out 18 batters and allowed only an unearned run in that game, in which the junior was perfect through seven innings and had a no-hitter into the 12th. Kersch threw 190 pitches in the semifinal, then tossed another 84 in the day’s championship game.

Ballston Spa head coach Amanda Fifield shared the Class A coaching award with Williamsville East’s Chris Durr. Ballston Spa finished its season 22-4 and as a state runner-up for the second consecutive year. 

While Shenendehowa’s Emily Carroll was Section II’s lone Class AA first-team selection, joining Kersch as a Class A first-team pick were Ballston Spa’s Ange Stile and South Glens Falls’ Leah Vanderwarker. Also from Section II, Ichabod Crane teammates Bella Milazzo and Gabbie Cox were Class B first-team selections, Lake George’s Tyler Bergman and Chatham’s Jenna Skype earned Class C first-team spots, and Class D first-team selections went to Whitehall’s Madison Gould and Fort Ann’s Kayla Bailey.


Emily Carroll, Shenendehowa, 11 (first team); Miaysia Kelly, Colonie, 12 (second team); Sophia Caputo, Shenendehowa, 12 (third team); Madison Chandler, Saratoga Springs, 12 (fifth team); Sam Hardwick, Shaker, 11 (sixth team); Jess Patterson, Columbia, 12 (eighth team).


Lauren Kersch, Ballston Spa, 11 (first team); Ange Stile, Ballston Spa, 12 (first team); Leah Vanderwarker, South Glens Falls, 12 (first team); Ana Gold, Ballston Spa, 10 (second team); Kasen Lemay, South Glens Falls, 12 (third team); Hannah Breen, South Glens Falls, 10 (third team); Marissa Nagel, Averill Park, 12 (fourth team); Matti Muller, Mohonasen, 10 (fourth team); Kelly Mayette, Scotia-Glenville, 12 (sixth team); Maddy Rifenberick, Troy, 11 (seventh team).


Bella Milazzo, Ichabod Crane, 10 (first team); Gabbie Cox, Ichabod Crane, 12 (first team); Teagan Andrews, Schuylerville, 11 (second team); Brittany Futia, Ichabod Crane, 12 (second team); Maggie Kelley, Tamarac, 11 (third team); Stephanie Meehan, Glens Falls, 12 (fourth team); Erin Mahar, Schalmont, 10 (fifth team); Melody Kappel, Greenville, 10 (fifth team).


Tyler Bergman, Lake George, 10 (first team); Jenna Skype, Chatham, 12 (first team); Courtney Fraher, Greenwich, 12 (second team); Brooke-Lyn Doyle, Chatham, 12 (second team); Rebecca Jaeger, Lake George, 12 (third team); Alysa Houghtaling, Maple Hill, 12 (third team); Michaela Stockwell, Fort Plain, 11 (fourth team); Lily McCauliffe, Greenwich, 9 (fifth team); Jailene Santiago, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons, 12 (fifth team).


Madison Gould, Whitehall, 8 (first team); Kayla Bailey, Fort Ann, 12 (first team); Sarah Paige, Fort Ann, 11 (second team); Jordan Reis, Heatly, 11 (third team).

Categories: High School Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply