Saratoga County

Three supervisor seat contests in Saratoga County

Ballston, Milton and Wilton all have supervisor contests, but four other towns have Town Board contests
Voters cast their ballots during the first early elections at Niskayuna Town Hall in Niskayuna on Saturday, October 26, 2019.
Voters cast their ballots during the first early elections at Niskayuna Town Hall in Niskayuna on Saturday, October 26, 2019.

SARATOGA COUNTY — Saratoga County has three towns where the office of town supervisor is being contested on Tuesday, as well as eight towns where voters have choices on issues to decide.

Ballston, Milton and Wilton all have contests for town supervisor, with different circumstances in each town, and little doubt at the end of the day that Republicans will remain in control of town government in any of those towns.

In Milton, general election voters will weigh in between candidates who previously faced off in a Republican primary in June. The Town Board has competing factions, though all involved are registered Republicans.

One-term town supervisor Scott Ostrander has the Republican line after defeating fellow Town Board member Benny Zlotnick in the primary. But Zlotnick and running mates Barbara Kerr and Ryan Isachsen organized a write-in campaign that won them the Conservative and Independence lines on primary day, and they later were endorsed by the town Democratic committee.

In the Town Board race, Kerr and Isachsen face Republican candidates Megan Soden and Antonio Bianchi.

In Ballston, meanwhile, incumbent supervisor Tim Szczepaniak is hoping to stay in office by winning on the Conservative and Independence lines, though he acknowledges it will be an uphill battle. Szczepaniak lost a Republican primary to Eric Connolly, in a race dominated by public concerns about the pace of development in town. Connolly is a registered Republican, but also has the Democratic ballot line.

Vote 2019: Your guide to Tuesday’s elections

In Wilton, town supervisor Arthur Johnson, a Republican, is retiring after 20 years in office. The Republicans are putting up Town Board member and long-time volunteer firefighter John Lant, and the Democrats have nominated Nancy Dwyer.

For Town Board, Republicans Raymond F. O’Conor and Erinn C. Kolligan are running to fill two seats, with the Democrats fielding one candidate, Michele L. Hill-Davis. With two town justice positions open, Democrat Richard P. Wolfe is challenging Republican incumbents David R. Towne and Matthew R. Coseo. Finally, veteran GOP highway superintendent Kirklin Woodcock is being opposed by Democrat John Helenek.

Four other towns have races for town board seats:

— In Clifton Park, Democrat Kerensa Ryback is challenging Republians James Whalen and Amy Standaert.

— In Malta, Democrat Matthew Coldrick is taking on Republican incumbents Craig Warner and Timothy Dunn as they seek re-election.

— In Stillwater, Democrats Valerie Masterson and Jimel Williams are challenging Republican incumbents Lisa Bruno and Ellen Vomacka.

— In the town of Saratoga, Democrats James Sullivan and Bryan Drew are taking on Republicans Gary Squires and Ruth Drumm.

Finally, in the town of Charlton, the slate of Republicans faces running for election faces no challengers, but town voters will have a decision to make, printed on the back of the ballot: Should town clerk and tax collector have four-year terms, instead of two-year terms?

Reach Gazette reporter Stephen Williams at 518-395-3086, [email protected] or @gazettesteve on Twitter.

Categories: News, Saratoga County

Leave a Reply