Capital Region

Fulton, Montgomery, Schoharie counties set for Phase 3 COVID-19 reopening Friday, Cuomo says

Gov. Andrew Cuomo Thursday
Gov. Andrew Cuomo Thursday

ALBANY – Fulton, Montgomery and Schoharie counties are set to start Phase 3 COVID-19 reopening Friday, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Thursday.

The governor also announced that public pools and playgrounds can reopen. Localities will make the final calls on reopening those while following state guidance.

The three counties are part of the Mohawk Valley region that will be one of five regions in the state to move to the second-to-last phase.


The Daily Gazette is committed to keeping our community safe and informed and is offering our COVID-19 coverage to you free.
Our subscribers help us bring this information to you. Please consider a subscription at to help support these efforts.
Thank You

“We have the best experts that you could possibly have reviewing this and they’ve reviewed it and the five regions will enter Phase 3 tomorrow, Friday,” Cuomo said at his Thursday news conference.

The earliest the Capital Region, which includes the rest of the area, could enter Phase 3 is this coming Wednesday.

Phase 3 includes indoor restaurant dining and personal care services such as tattooing, piercing, massage, manicure, tanning and waxing. They will be able to resume with restrictions. 

The final phase, Phase 4, covers arts, entertainment, recreation, as well as education.Regarding pools and playgrounds, Cuomo said municipalities can use their local COVID-19 data to determine whether to reopen them and stay within state guidelines.

Categories: Fulton Montgomery Schoharie, News, Saratoga County, Schenectady County


No Comment.