N.Y. adds Delaware, Kansas, Oklahoma to travel quarantine list

Cuomo's effort to block reintroduction of virus to New York began in late June
Albany International Airport, shown nearly deserted in March, is seeing gradually increasing travel activity.
Albany International Airport, shown nearly deserted in March, is seeing gradually increasing travel activity.

ALBANY — Travelers from three more states are now expected to quarantine themselves for two weeks upon arriving in New York: Delaware, Kansas and Oklahoma.

The travel advisory is designed to limit the risk of COVID-19 being carried from states with high or increasing rates of infection to New York, which has made substantial progress in beating back the virus.


The Daily Gazette is committed to keeping our community safe and informed and is offering our COVID-19 coverage to you free.
Our subscribers help us bring this information to you. Please consider a subscription at to help support these efforts.
Thank You

The order by Gov. Andrew Cuomo applies to all, including New Yorkers returning home.

People are left to comply on their own — the state does not force arriving travelers from the 19 states into quarantine, nor does it check that they’ve isolated themselves on their own. But it threatens penalties including stiff fines for those who do not comply.

The full list of states subject to the travel restrictions is now:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi 
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah


Nationwide Tuesday, 46,329 new cases of the virus and 322 new deaths were added to the total tallied by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control.

New York accounted for 588 of the new cases and 10 of the deaths, the state Department of Health reported.

In the Capital Region, one new COVID-related death was reported, a Schenectady County woman in her 90s who was a resident at an adult care facility. An infection cluster — seven residents and one employee — was reported at Riverside Center for Rehabilitation and Nursing in Schodack. And the number of people hospitalized with the virus in the region stood at 23, just two of them in intensive care.

Also Tuesday, Cuomo announced that Long Island is cleared to begin Phase 4 of reopening its economy Wednesday, which will leave New York City the only region of the state still in Phase 3.

New York City was by far the hardest hit of the state’s ten regions, home to 65% of the New Yorkers who died of COVID-19 and 55% of those who tested positive for the virus.

Long Island was the second-hardest hit, home to 17% of the victims and 21% of those known to be infected.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply