Area Stock Car Racing: Another different winner at Glen Ridge

The latest on area stock car racing from The Recorder's Thomas Coughlin Jr.
Andrew Buff (92) and Scott McCoy (187) battle for the lead in the Red Chair 602 DIRTcar Crate Sportsman feature at Glen Ridge.
Andrew Buff (92) and Scott McCoy (187) battle for the lead in the Red Chair 602 DIRTcar Crate Sportsman feature at Glen Ridge.

Glen Ridge Motorsports Park continues to have steady numbers in every division for 2020.

On Catalytic Recovery Night, the Red Chair DIRTcar 602 sportsman had another first-time winner in the 2020 season as Andrew Buff became the seventh different driver to grace victory lane in the headline division at the Fastest 1/4 Mile on Dirt. Chasing Buff to the finish line were Scott McCoy, Tucker O’Connor, Travis Green and Justin Buff.

Nick Stone would claim the win in the Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar pro stock division, over Beau Ballard, Cousin Luke Horning, Ivan Joslin and Justin Knight.
James Venditti scored his first victory in the limited sportsman race ahead of Stephen Gray, Pete Lorenzo III, Troy Zillies and Carter Gibbons.

Damon Anderson took the street stock feature, beating Adam Tranka, Kaleb Shepard, Ken Allen and Harley Shepard.

In the mini-stock division, Dale VanAllen won the single-cam feature and Josh Kane took the dual-cam feature.

Winning the Northeast Paving & Sealcoat slingshot divisions were Spencer Cherko in the all-star seniors and Frank Twing Jr. in the juniors.

The NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series was at the Kansas Speedway last weekend for a doubleheader. Stewart Friesen would start Friday’s feature from the 14th position, driving the Halmar Racing Toyota Tundra No. 54. Unfortunately, luck was not on Friesen’s side in the truck series as he would finish 27th on Friday and 34th on Saturday.

Locally, Albany-Saratoga Speedway had a full pit area on Friday, which included over 30 modifieds. Scoring his first win in 2020 was 13-time track champion Kenny Tremont Jr. Tremont claimed the 35-lap feature over a hard-charging Jack Lehner, Jessey Mueller, Rocky Warner and Mike Mahaney completed the top five. Heat race winners were Jimmy Cottrell, Warner, and Mahaney.

Stone would lead Chad Jeseo to the line in the DIRTcar pro stocks, followed by Chuck Dumblewski, Jason Meltz, and Horning.

Buff added to his win total in 2020 as he scored the 602 sportsman victory. Tim Hartman Jr., who was grabbing all of the trophies the last few years, had to settle for second. Completing the top five were Connor Cleveland, David Boisclair and Derek Bornt.

Penn Can Speedway had a few Capital District drivers on hand. Danny Ceeden claimed the 358 modified feature over Corey Cormier and A.J. Miller. Miller would also compete in the sportsman feature, where he finished eighth. Cody Clark towed his No. 4 to Penn Can Speedway to compete in the sportsman event. Unfortunately, his night ended with a did not finish due to motor issues.

Miller also had his No. 14J at Thunder Mountain Speedway on Saturday, where he finished eighth in the sportsman feature.

C.R.S.A. sprint cars were also at Penn Can, where Darryl Ruggles scored the win in the 25-lap feature for the 305 sprints. Completing the top three were Thomas Radivoy and Josh Pieniazek. Josh Flint of Cherry Valley finished ninth and earned the Hard Charger award. Cory Sparks of Edinburg finished 14th, and Jeff Trombley finished 16th. 

Monday night, Five Mile Point Speedway held the Mike Colsten Remembered 51 down in the southern tier near Binghamton. In the redraw for feature starting position, Friesen’s luck on dirt continued as he drew the pole position and would go on to claim the win in the 51-lap tribute race. Danny Creeden and Justin Holland were second and third, respectively. Alyssa Cody started seventh and finished 14th.

In the companion GRIT Series 602 sportsman feature, Matt Brewer scored the win over Brandon Loucks and Jimmy Zacharias. Brian Calabrese finished 11th.

Tuesday night, the Orange County Fair Speedway in Middletown presented the Revenge 40 for the modifieds. Many familiar local racers were in the feature lineup. Included in that list were Stewart and Jessica Friesen, Demetrios Drellos, Jack Lehner, Ricky Davis, Allison Ricci, Jessey Mueller and Michael Maresca. Jeff Heotzler won the last chance qualifiers race. Matt Sheppard took the win over Mike Mahaney, Max McLaughlin, Matt Williamson, and Billy Dunn. Stewart Friesen was a DNF, due to something breaking in the rear suspension of his No. 44 Bicknell chassis.

Track conditions were said to be very challenging by many of the competitors, most notably Jimmy Horton, who pulled off the track after only completing four laps of the feature.  

Wednesday, the Super DIRTcar Series was in action at the Bridgeport Speedway in New Jersey. The big blocks would compete in a 100-lap feature that saw an overabundance of flat tires as the lead changed a number of times because of that issue. Stewart Friesen was able to hold on for the victory, but his right rear tire was showing the effects of the abrasive track surface. Completing the top five were Billy Decker, Jimmy Phelps, Andy Bachetti and Maresca. Other area drivers that made the trip and their finishes were Peter Britten (sixth), Demetrios Drellos (11th), Mueller (12th) and Lehner (15th). Jessica Friesen was a DNQ. Approximately 34 cars signed in.

Midweek, Orange County had pulled the plug on Saturday’s racing program due to the continued and ever-changing COVID-19 restrictions put in place by New York state.

Fonda and Short Track Super Series promoter Brett Deyo announced this week that there will be modified racing in Louisiana in the month of November. Tentatively scheduled is a four-night swing called the Cajun Flavor, Four Nights of Action on the Bayou. This will be in conjunction with the Super South Modified Series.

The four nights will be Nov. 11-14. Two nights will be at the Ark-La-Tex Speedway near Vivian, Louisiana, and the other two nights at the Chatham Speedway near Chatham, Louisiana. The final night at Chatham is titled Mods in the Marsh, paying $20,000 for a 100-lap feature..

And finally Saturday, both Bobby Varin and Lehner will unveil their 2020 modified rides for Fonda.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply