Two more states added to COVID-19 quarantine list


ALBANY – Two more states, Delaware and Alaska, have been added to the state’s COVID-19 travel advisory, Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo said Tuesday.

The addition of the two states means that the state’s travel quarantine rules now apply to those coming from 32 states and two territories, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Individuals who have traveled to New York from those states, which Cuomo said have significant community spread, must quarantine for 14 days.

“New York State is moving forward in the face of a continuing crisis throughout the nation and around the world — we’ve gone from one of the nation’s worst infection rates to one of its best and have an infection rate below 1 percent for the 11th straight day — but that’s no excuse for getting complacent as we add two more states to our travel advisory,” Cuomo said.

Delaware was on the travel list earlier, but was dropped from it on Aug. 4 due to improvements. But the state’s recent average number of new cases per day — about 75 — has been creeping upward in the last week, according to Delaware’s coronavirus database.

In another part of the state’s response to the pandemic, Cuomo announced that the special enrollment period for uninsured New Yorkers will be extended for another 30 days, through Sept. 15. Uninsured New Yorkers can apply for coverage through NY State of Health, New York State’s health insurance marketplace, or directly through insurers.

“While we’ve crushed the curve of the virus, we are still in challenging times for hard-working families throughout the state who need access to quality, affordable health care,” Cuomo said.

“The state has maintained low infection rates and is moving in the right direction, but we know we’re not out of the woods yet,” Cuomo said. “By offering this special enrollment period, we’re making sure New Yorkers who need affordable and at times live-saving health care coverage can get it.”

Cuomo also announced that for the eleventh consecutive day, New York state’s rate of positive COVID tests was below one percent.

Statewide, there were eight additional deaths reported on Monday, including one in Montgomery County. According to the state Health Department, it is the fifth death of a Montgomery County resident since the start of the pandemic.

Schenectady County on Monday reported the recent death of a woman in her 70s, the first COVID-19 death on nearly three weeks, and the county’s 44th death from COVID since the pandemic started. The governor’s office listed the death on Saturday but Schenectady County didn’t announce it until Monday, leaving it uncertain when the death actually occurred.

While the Capital Region’s rate of positive testing on Monday was below one percent — 0.8 percent — new cases of COVID continue to be reported.

Schenectady County reported nine new cases on Monday, Saratoga County five new cases, Albany County four new cases, Fulton County two new cases, and Montgomery and Schoharie counties each reported no new cases, according to Cuomo’s office. There were 655 new cases confirmed statewide.

Reach staff writer Stephen Williams at 518-395-3086, 

[email protected]



 on Twitter.


Categories: News

Leave a Reply