New York

Four states added to New York’s COVID travel quarantine list

Gov. Andrew Cuomo Tuesday (Credit: Governor's Office)

Gov. Andrew Cuomo Tuesday (Credit: Governor's Office)

NEW YORK — Delaware, Maryland, Ohio and West Virginia have been added to New York’s COVID-19 travel quarantine list, while Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands have been removed.

Anyone who has spent more than a short period of time in the 35 states and one territory on this list is required to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival in New York — whether they are New York residents returning home or nonresidents arriving for a visit.

The list is based on the COVID infection rate within a given state or territory. Gov. Andrew Cuomo said Tuesday that infection introduced from the many states with much higher COVID activity than New York is one of the bigger threats to New York’s continued progress beating back the pandemic.

“Individuals coming from other states continue to be a problem, and today we’re adding four more states to New York’s travel advisory,” he said during a press briefing. “We now have 35 high-risk states in this country, which is incredible.”

The current state quarantine list (34 states, 1 territory):

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Categories: Fulton | Montgomery | Schoharie, News, Saratoga County, Schenectady County, Your Niskayuna

Leave a Reply