Montgomery County

Warner victorious in Fonda Speedway’s Montgomery County Open


FONDA — The luck of the draw placed Rocky Warner on the pole position for the start of the 40-lap, $12,000 to win Montgomery County Open at the Fonda Speedway on Saturday night. At the conclusion of the 40-lap event, Warner celebrated the win in victory lane.

When victory lane announcer Mimi Lazzaro said to him, “Nice to see you here in victory lane,” Warner’s response was “I almost forgot where victory lane was. We went winless in 2020. What a way to start 2021.”

Warner’s win was his first at Fonda since July 27, 2019, in a season where he won the Modified points title at the “Track of Champions.” The win also guarantees Warner a starting spot in the $53,000 to win Fonda 200 to be held on Sept. 18.

Other winners on Andy’s Speed Shop Night at Fonda were Chad Edwards (Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman), Devon Camenga (Algonkin Motel Pro Stocks), Carter Gibbons (Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman), Slappy White (Fonda Fair Cruiser DOHC), Wayne Russell Jr. (Fonda Fair Cruiser SOHC), Darral Hulbert (Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series Modified), Curtis Condon (Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series Late Model), Jon Kuleszo (Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series Sportsman) and Frank Blanchard (Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series Antique).

After a couple of early restarts, Warner led the 40-lap Montgomery County Open Sunoco Modified feature ahead of Ronnie Johnson, with Craig Hanson and Mike Maresca in two — though Maresca’s night was done on lap 14 went he slowed coming out of turn four and drove to the infield.

Warner was in traffic just past the halfway point of the event, having trouble getting by the lapped car of Shane Jablonka, and a caution came out on lap 23 when Jablonka came to a stop on the backstretch. Warner pulled away again on the restart and led the remaining laps for his seventh career win in the division over Johnson, Hanson, Matt DeLorenzo and 2020 Montgomery County Open winner Anthony Perrego.

“I actually hate starting on the pole,” Warner said in victory lane. “I’d rather start fifth or sixth, but I just stayed on the bottom and after trying to decide whether to run a softer tire we ran the same tire that we run here weekly and it worked.”

Edwards, the defending track champion, scored a second straight feature win in the 25-lap Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman main event. He started on the outside pole, took the lead at the drop of the green flag and controlled the race until the finish, beating out Cody Clark, Tim Hartman Jr., Tony Farone and Payton Talbot.

Camenga scored his first career win in the Algonkin Motel Pro Stock feature, starting the 20-lap race from the pole and shaking off a challenge from Nick Stone to claim the victory. Behind runner-up Stone, the top five was completed by Kenny Gates, Chuck Dumblewski and opening night winner Beau Ballard.

“It’s been a little over nine years to get my first career win anywhere,” Camenga said in victory lane. “People don’t realize how hard it is but tonight they were going to have to move me off the bottom if they were going to get by me. I’m at a loss of words right now.”

Gibbons led all 15 laps in the Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman feature, scoring his first career win at Fonda over Jeremy Tyrrell, Taylor LaPlante, Clayton Du Mond and Mike Formont.

In the Fonda Fair Cruiser Division, White was the top Dual Overhead Cam finisher, claiming his first-career Fonda win, while Russell captured the Single Overhead Cam category to earn his second-ever win at the track.

SUNOCO MODIFIED (Montgomery County Open, 40 laps) — Rocky Warner, Ronnie Johnson, Craig Hanson, Matt DeLorenzo, Anthony Perrego, Tim Fuller, Bobby Varin, Jackie Brown, Jr., Billy Pauch Jr., David Schilling, Alan Johnson, Adam McAuliffe, Josh Hohenforst, Jeff Hoetzler, Dave Constantino, JaMike Sowle, Dave Marcuccilli, Rich Christman, Shane Jablonka, Chris Curtis, Michael Maresca, Alan Barker, Brian Pessolano, Danny Tyler, Cale Ross, Brian Gleason, Brandon Hightower.

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN (25 laps) — Chad Edwards, Cody Clark, Tim Hartman Jr., Tony Farone, Payton Talbot, Brian Calabrese, Troy Palmer, Mark Mortensen, Brendan Gibbons, Dan Santabarbara, Mike Ketchum, Tim Dwyer, Ricky Quick, Tanner Warner, Chip Constantino, Aaron Burton, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Ricky Thompson, Addison Bowman, Jason Greco, Troy Zilles, Bill August, Brett Mortensen, Brian Borst, Fire Swamp, Tucker O’Connor, EJ McAuliffe.

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK (20 laps) — Devon Camenga, Nick Stone, Kenny Gates, Chuck Dumblewski, Beau Ballard, Jason Morrison, Ivan Joslin, Andy Graves, Josh Coonradt, Luke Horning, Jim Normoyle, AJ Walters, Bill Knapp, Gary Silkey, Steve Cosselman, Cliff Haslun, Kyle Hoard, Shane Playford, Randy Cosselman, Dan Krajewski (DNS).

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN (15 laps) — Carter Gibbons, Jeremy Tyrrell, Taylor LaPlante, Clayton DuMond, Mike Formont, Johnny Young, Kyle Dingman, Jerry Cohn, Ryan Sweet, Stephen Gray, Jonathan Feagles.

FONDA FAIR CRUISERS — Slappy White (DOHC), Wayne Russell Jr. (SOHC), Justin Pope, John Napoli, Kerrie Hollenback, Billy Hillman, Zach McSpirit, Shawn Hemstreet, Andrew VanHoesen, Lee Horning, Ken Hollenback, Tyler White, Dale VanAllen, Brandon Tyler, David Peek-Britten, Jamie Warner, Tony Frezzo (DQ), PJ Bleau (DQ).

MOHAWK VALLEY VINTAGE DIRT MODIFIED SERIES ANTIQUE — Frank Blanchard, Chuck Scofield, Bryan Scofield, Stew Pidasso, Ed Docskalik, Mike Cole, Mark Reardon, Don Briggs, Harley Sheppard, Taylor Wheeler.

MOHAWK VALLEY VINTAGE DIRT MODIFIED SERIES VINTAGE SPORTSMAN — Jon Kuleszo, Dan Wood, Stephen Denton, Bryon Seyfried, Brian Gray, John Constantino, Mike Francisco, Mike Brown, Dan Karl, George Palmer, Jimmy Fugel, Mike Wheeler, Carl Cram

MOHAWK VALLEY VINTAGE DIRT MODIFIED SERIES MODIFIED — Darral Hulbert, Merv Blackwell, Stanley Wetmore, Randy Delaney, Jack Miller, Joe Firstium, Mark Anatriello.

MOHAWK VALLEY VINTAGE DIRT MODIFIED SERIES LATE MODEL — Curtis Condon, John Roese, Kirk Lawson, Will Reed, Brent Tardy, Adam Warner (DNS).

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply