Capital Region

Lahut re-elected CDTA board chairman

Jayme Lahut of Niskayuna

Jayme Lahut of Niskayuna

ALBANY – Jayme Lahut of Niskayuna has been re-elected the board chairman of the Capital District Transportation Authority.

It is the second one-year term for Lahut, who is executive director of the Schenectady County Metroplex Development Authority. He is the first CDTA board chairman from Schenectady County since 1979. Lahut has been on the board since 2017.

“I’m pleased to continue to serve as chairman of the CDTA board of directors,” he said. “The past year has been filled with challenges to all industries, and I’m so impressed by the way the CDTA workforce has handled the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The regional mass transit agency has struggled to maintain ridership and deal with pandemic-related travel restrictions over the last year, while adopting to the pilot use of electric buses and establishing a new bus rapid-transit route between Waterford-Troy and Albany.

Other officers, all re-elected, are Michael J. Criscione of Albany County, vice-chair; David M. Stackrow of Rensselaer County, treasurer; and Mark Schaeffer of Albany County, secretary.

Categories: News, Schenectady County, Your Niskayuna

Leave a Reply