Jocelyn and Chris win big at Eddies Awards

In a screenshot taken from YouTube, Jocelyn and Chris perform during Sunday’s Eddies Awards show in Saratoga Springs.

In a screenshot taken from YouTube, Jocelyn and Chris perform during Sunday’s Eddies Awards show in Saratoga Springs.

SARATOGA SPRINGS — Jocelyn and Chris, sibling rockers and Fort Plain natives, were big winners Sunday night at the 2020 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards, broadcast from Universal Preservation Hall. 

They won Album of the Year, Video of the Year and Solo/Duo Artist of the Year. During the show, they also performed with a full band and debuted their new single “Sugar and Spice.”

Record of the Year was awarded to the Gibson Brothers, who also won Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year. Another two-time winner was WEXT, which won Radio Station of the Year and whose host, Chris Wienk, won Radio DJ of the Year. 

The Eddies Awards show, which was twice rescheduled during the pandemic, was shot on a closed set in UPH’s Great Hall and included four panel discussions on how artists, technicians, venue owners and others have pivoted this year. The panels were hosted by WEQX’s Jeff Morad and WEXT’s Andy Gregory. 

There were also four musical performances throughout the evening featuring Jocelyn and Chris, Promise The Unbreakable™, Garland Nelson and Marty Wendell. 

The awards show was organized by Proctors Collaborative and filmed by Chromoscope Pictures. It’s available to view through Collaborative Studios’ Amazon Fire TV, Roku and Apple TV apps, as well as YouTube and Facebook. 

Here is a complete list of winners:  

Music Journalist of the Year: Katie Cusack (The Collaborative)  

Arts Publication of the Year: Nippertown  

Radio DJ of the Year: Chris Wienk (WEXT)  

Radio Station of the Year: WEXT  

Photographer of the Year: Kiki Vassilakis   

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year (covers): Erin Harkes  

Party Cover Band of the Year: The Refrigerators  

Country Cover Band of the Year: Skeeter Creek  

DJ of the Year: DJ Trumastr  

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year: JB aka Dirty Moses 

Electronica Artist of the Year: Bare Mattress  

World Music Artist of the Year: Taina Asili y La Banda Rebelde   

Classical Artist of the Year: Albany Pro Musica  

Jazz Artist of the Year: Dylan Perrillo  

On the Verge Presenter of the Year: Super Dark Collective  

Promoter of the Year: Greg Bell (Guthrie Bell Productions)

Live Production Crew of the Year: High Peaks Sound 

Music Recording Studio of the Year: Overit Studios 

Record Label of the Year: Five Kill Records

Best Hang: The Low Beat

Alt/Indie Artist of the Year: Candy Ambulance

Punk Artist/Hardcore Artist of the Year: Prince Daddy and the Hyena

Metal/Hard Rock Artist of the Year: The Clay People 

Jam Band of the Year nominees: Let’s Be Leonard

Blues Artist of the Year: Annie and the Hedonists

Americana Artist of the Year: Eastbound Jesus

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year: The Sea The Sea

R&B/Soul Artist of the Year: The Age

Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year: The Gibson Brothers

Solo or Duo Artist of the Year: Jocelyn & Chris

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year: Girl Blue

Music Video of the Year: Jocelyn & Chris, “Outta My Head”

Record of the Year: Gibson Brothers, “Cool Drink of Water”

Album of the Year: Jocelyn and Chris, “The Fun in the Fight”

Categories: Entertainment

Leave a Reply