Montgomery County

Friesen takes his third victory at Fonda this season


FONDA — Stewart Friesen was in the house at the Fonda Speedway on Saturday evening and continued his dominance in the Sunoco Modified division, taking the lead from Adam McAuliffe on lap 20 and going on to his third win of the season and the 71st of his career at the track.

Other winners on Saturday evening at Fonda were Jason Reome (Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman), Josh Coonradt (Algonkin Motel Pro Stocks), Taylor LaPlante (first career win in the Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman), andKen Hollenback (SOHC) and Slappy White (DOHC) in the Fonda Fair Four Cylinders.

McAuliffe started on the pole for the 30-lap Sunoco Modified feature and immediately took the lead at the drop of the green flag ahead of George Foley. Defending track champion Michael Maresca started in eight, but by lap three he swung around the outside of three cars to move all the way up to third.

Maresca later moved into second following two yellow flags, while Friesen moved into the top five after starting 12th. Friesen was up to second by lap 11, running 3.2 seconds behind McAuliffe. However, Friesen was running lap times a half-second faster than McAuliffe and was on the leader’s rear bumper by lap 18.

On lap 20, Friesen got by McAuliffe for the lead on the inside of the backstretch and immediately started pulling away. Friesen went on to win the race by 4.6 seconds ahead of McAuliffe, with Rocky Warner getting up for third while Maresca and Dave Constantino completed the top five.

“My guys work so hard on this race car and we have it rolling now,” Friesen said in victory lane while his son Parker and his friends danced on the roof of his racer. “We have some good notes and packages for different racetracks, and we got it rolling now.”

Reome started the 25-lap Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman feature on the pole with Michael McCallion in second. Reome pulled into a big early lead, while Mark Mortensen — who started 10th — found an outside groove and was picking his way through the field, eventually taking second from McCallion on lap eight.

Mortensen eventually reeled in Reome and took the lead on lap 18. Mortensen maintained the lead following a lap 23 restart, but coming out of turn four on lap 24, Mortensen slowed with a right rear flat tire, caused by a broken shock mount. Mortensen couldn’t continue, and Reome retook the lead on the restart and held on to the finish for his first career win at Fonda. Kurtis Hohensheldt, Payton Talbot, McCallion and Troy Zilles completed the top five. 

“This has been a long time coming,” Reome said in victory lane. “Now I want to do it again.”

Coonradt, who has had a tough start to his 2021 season, started the Algonkin Motel Pro Stock feature in eighth but moved quickly and took the lead from early leader Gary Silkey on lap 12. Nick Stone moved into second, and the two dueled to the finish, but Coonradt held on for his first win of the season ahead of Stone, Bill Knapp, Jim Normoyle and Steve Cosselman.

LaPlante picked up his first win at Fonda in the Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman feature, capturing the 15-lap event ahead of Stephen Gray, John Young, Jonathan Feagles and Kyle Dingman.

Hollenback (SOHC) was the overall winner in the Fonda Fair Four Cylinders 12-lap event with White (DOHC) finishing second, followed by Brandon Tyler, PJ Bleau, and Justin Pope.

SUNOCO MODIFIED (30 laps) — Stewart Friesen, Adam McAuliffe, Rocky Warner, Michael Maresca, Dave Constantino, Jack Lehner, David Schilling, Mike Mahaney, Craig Hanson, Ronnie Johnson, Tyler Dippel, Josh Hohenforst, Ancel Collins, JaMike Sowle, Rich Christman, Brian Pessolano, Pep Corradi, Derrick McGrew Jr., Keith Flach, George Foley, Jessica Friesen, Steve Akers, Bobby Varin.

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN (25 laps) — Jason Reome, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Payton Talbot, Michael McCallion, Troy Zilles, Ricky Quick, Addison Bowman, Chad Edwards, Cody Clark, Tucker O’Connor, Brian Borst, Tony Farone, Tim Hartman Jr., Tanner Warner, Dan Santabarbara, Chip Constantino, Aaron Burton, Bill August, Brendan Gibbons, Joe Orlando Brett Mortensen, Mark Mortensen, Jason Greco, Ray Zemken, Mike Ketchum, Tim Dwyer

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK (20 laps) — Josh Coonradt, Nick Stone, Bill Knapp, Jim Normoyle, Steve Cosselman, Gary Silkey, Beau Ballard, Chuck Dumblewski, Kenny Gates, Kyle Hoard, Jason Morrison, Frank Hoard Jr., Cliff Haslun, AJ Walters, Andy Graves, Devon Camenga, Chuck McSpirit, Ivan Joslin, Randy Cosselman DNS

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN (15 laps) — Taylor LaPlante, Stephen Gray, John Young, Jonathan Feagles, Kyle Dingman, John Anderson, Bill Port, Clayton DuMond, Ryan Sweet, Bob Rowback, Lance Hill, Jeremy Tyrrell, Carter Gibbons

FONDA FAIR FOUR CYLINDER (12 laps) — Ken Hollenback (SOHC), Slappy White (DOHC), Brandon Tyler, PJ Bleau, Justin Pope, John Napoli, Kerrie Hollenback, Jamie Warner, David Peek Britten, Wayne Russel Jr., Gina Voris, Jim Daniels DNS.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply