Scotia

Live music returning to Scotia’s Freedom Park

The Lustre Kings perform on July 21 (photo provided)
PHOTOGRAPHER:

The Lustre Kings perform on July 21 (photo provided)

Live music from the likes of the Mia Scirocco Trio, The Lustre Kings and others is heading to the Freedom Park stage this summer.

GAZETTE COVERAGE

Ensure access to everything we do, today and every day, check out our subscribe page at DailyGazette.com/Subscribe

Kicking off on Wednesday, June 23, the Freedom Park Summer Concert Series will feature biweekly in-person concerts through Aug. 28.

“After 2020’s completely virtual season, we couldn’t be more excited to be live and back on the park stage this year,” said Cathy Gatta, the president of the Freedom Park Foundation.

To bring back in-person shows, organizers will rearrange seating, sectioning off pods of about 10 feet each, so that attendees can socially distance themselves from other groups.

At this point, New York State allows up to 500 attendees at outdoor concerts without the venues having to check for vaccination or COVID-19 testing, said Gatta. “We are hoping the restrictions keep loosening as we go through the summer, but at this point, we’ll take what we can get.”

Volunteers with Freedom Park Foundation will count the number of attendees as they enter to make sure they’re not over the 500 maximum.

Attendees should also plan to wear face coverings when not in their designated seating areas.

“I’m hoping that the focus is not on what visitors can’t do, but that we can now be out and enjoying music from some really wonderful local groups in a beautiful park,” Gatta said.

The schedule includes everything from 1960s pop music to rock and more.

“We also added the band SIRSY towards the end of the summer in the hopes that either the restrictions change, or that by then our guests will understand the rules. They typically draw a very large crowd, so we’ll see” Gatta said.

Organizers will also stream the performances on Facebook Live for those who don’t feel comfortable coming to the park. All shows start at 7 p.m.

For more information visit FreedomParkScotia.com.

Here’s a look at the schedule:
Wed June 23 – Hot Club of Saratoga
Sat. June 26 – Betsy & the ByeGons
Wed. June 30 – Capital District Youth Pipe Band
Wed. July 7 – Big Fez & the Surfmatics
Sat. July 10 – Carmen & Life’s Guilty Pleasures
Wed. July 14 – Donnie P & Celebration Family
Sat. July 17 – Watch Reggie Run
Wed. July 21 – Lustre Kings
Sat. July 24 – Heard
Wed. July 28 – Brian Patneaude Quintet
Sat. July 31 – Ratboy Jr.
Wed. Aug. 4 – Annie & the Hedonists
Sat. Aug. 7 – Mia Scirocco Trio
Wed. Aug. 11 – The Rhythm Pilots
Sat. Aug. 14 – Ellen Sinopoli Dance Company
Wed. Aug. 18 – The Legendary Characters
Sat. Aug. 21 – Rusticator
Wed. Aug. 25 – SIRSY
Sat. Aug. 28 – The Rogues

GAZETTE COVERAGE

Ensure access to everything we do, today and every day, check out our subscribe page at DailyGazette.com/Subscribe

Categories: Entertainment

Leave a Reply