Montgomery County

Friesen sweeps twin Sunoco Modified features on Fonda’s Dave Lape Tribute Night


FONDA — It was a special atmosphere Saturday at Fonda Speedway built around a tribute to legendary racer Dave Lape, and when the final checkered flag flew late at night, it was a continued show of dominance from Stewart Friesen as the Sprakers driver captured both of the twin 22-lap Sunoco Modified features.

Dave Lape Tribute Night started in the afternoon with a special ceremony at the Fonda Speedway Hall of Fame and Museum, with many of Lape’s friends, colleagues, crew members, business partners and fellow racers on hand.

Friesen highlighted the racing action, pocketing $1,722 for each feature victory. Other winners Saturday were Tucker O’Connor (Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman), Kenny Gates (Algonkin Motel Pro Stocks), Clayton DuMond (Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman), and Ken Hollenback (SOHC) and Tyler White (DOHC) in the Fonda Fair 4-Cylinders.

Friesen started 12th in the first of the 22-lap Sunoco Modified feature, but took the lead from polesitter David Schilling on lap 14, then held on to the finish to win over Jack Lehner, Schilling, Josh Hohenforst and Bobby Varin.

In the second of the twin features, Friesen took the lead just past the midway point of the race and led the remaining laps to earn the win ahead of Lehner, Rocky Warner, Hohenforst and Schilling.

In the 25-lap Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman feature, O’Connor took the lead from Mark Mortensen on a lap four restart and held on through three cautions to earn his first win in the division. Mortensen, Cody Clark, Tim Hartman Jr. and Aaron Burton completed the top five.

“It finally happened,” O’Connor said in victory lane. “We had a good starting spot and just tried to stay out of the holes.”

The 20-lap Algonkin Motel Pro Stock feature saw five lead changes between five different drivers. Eventually, the free-for-all ended with Gates taking the lead from Chuck Dumblewski on lap 11 and going on for his 84th career win over Dumblewski, Steve Cosselman, Frank Hoard Jr. and Bill Knapp.

DuMond started the 15-lap Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman feature in fourth, but got past early leader Bill Port on lap six and went on to his first-ever Fonda win over Carter Gibbons, Kyle Dingman, Jeremy Tyrrell and John Young.

Tyler White (DOHC) led the last two laps in the 12-lap Fonda Fair 4-Cylinder feature to take the overall win with Ken Hollenback finishing second to take the win in the (SOHC) class. Slappy White, Kerrie Hollenback and John Napoli completed the top five.

SUNOCO MODIFIED RACE #1 (22 laps) — Stewart Friesen, Jack Lehner, David Schilling, Josh Hohenforst, Bobby Varin, Craig Hanson, Jessica Friesen, Adam McAuliffe, Pep Corradi, Dave Constantino, Rich Christman, Ancel Collins, George Foley, JaMike Sowle, Anthony Cardamone, Aaron Jacobs, Michael Maresca, Dylan Scribner, Ronnie Johnson, Rocky Warner, Steve Akers, Mike Mahaney, Derrick McGrew Jr., Brian Pessolano, Chris Curtis DNS, EJ McAuliffe DNS.

SUNOCO MODIFIED RACE #2 (22 laps) — Stewart Friesen, Jack Lehner, Rocky Warner, Josh Hohenforst, David Schilling, Pep Corradi, Jessica Friesen, Craig Hanson, Dave Constantino, Anthony Cardamone, Bobby Varin, Mike Mahaney, Adam McAuliffe, Ancel Collins, Rich Christman, Michael Maresca, Derrick McGrew Jr., Aaron Jacobs, Brian Pessolano, Dylan Scribner, Ronnie Johnson, George Foley DNS, JaMike Sowle DNS, Steve Akers DNS, EJ McAuliffe DNS.

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN (25 laps) — Tucker O’Connor, Mark Mortensen, Cody Clark, Tim Hartman Jr., Aaron Burton, Mike Ketchum, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Tim Dwyer, Chad Edwards, Nick Scavia, Addison Bowman, Troy Palmer, Joe Geniti, Brian Calabrese, Ricky Quick, Brian Borst, Blaine Klinger, Tanner Warner, Michael McCallion, Dan Santabarbara, Jason Greco, Brett Mortensen, Payton Talbot, Tony Farone, Ray Zemken, Troy Zilles.

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK (20 laps) — Kenny Gates, Chuck Dumblewski, Steve Cosselman, Frank Hoard Jr., Bill Knapp, Ivan Joslin, Gary Silkey, Rich Crane, Randy Cosselman, Chuck McSpirit, Mike Kalkbrenner, Cliff Haslun, Shane Playford, Nick Stone, Josh Coonradt, Jim Normoyle, Kyle Hoard, Beau Ballard, Luke Horning, Jason Morrison, AJ Walters, Andy Graves, Don Collins.

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN (15 laps) — Clayton DuMond, Carter Gibbons, Kyle Dingman, Jeremy Tyrrell, John Young, Taylor LaPlante, Bill Port, Lance Hill, Ryan Sweet, John Andersono, Chris Crane Jr.,Bob Rowback, Wesley Sutliff, Dana Periard, Jonathan Feagles DNS.

FONDA FAIR FOUR CYLINDER (12 laps) — Tyler White (DOHC), Ken Hollenback (SOHC), Slappy White, Kerrie Hollenback, John Napoli, Zach McSpirit, David Peek-Britten, Wayne Russel Jr., Brandon Tyler, Shawn Briggs, Austin Orcutt, Keith Tesiero, AJ VanHoesen, TJ Marlitt.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply