Montgomery County

Friesen gets 75th career Fonda Speedway modified division win

Stewart Friesen won the Sunoco Modified feature on Saturday night at Fonda Speedway. (Photo courtesy Jeff Karabin)

Stewart Friesen won the Sunoco Modified feature on Saturday night at Fonda Speedway. (Photo courtesy Jeff Karabin)

FONDA — Starting 12th on the grid for the 30-lap Sunoco Modified feature on Saturday at Fonda Speedway, Stewart Friesen did what he normally does, work his way to the front of the field. It didn’t come easily on a challenging track, but he wasn’t comfortable just staying in one lane and moved around as needed to get to the front.

“I just tried to move around a bit on a slick and technical track, but with the unique situation with tires I tried to keep the tires under me,” Friesen said in victory lane.

For Friesen it was his seventh win of the 2021 season at Fonda and the 75th of his career at Fonda.

Other winners on A-Verdi Storage Container Night were Brian Calabrese (Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman), Nick Stone (Algonkin Motel Pro Stocks), Kyle Dingman (Montgomery County Office for Aging Inc. Limited Sportsman), Ken Hollenback and Slappy White (Fonda Fair Four Cylinders) and Paulie Colagiovanni (Earl Halaquist Memorial Patriot 360 Sprint Cars).

Adam McAuliffe led early in the Sunoco Modified feature, but Friesen was up near the front quickly enough and was into the top five by lap nine, trailing only McAuliffe and Rocky Warner by the halfway point of the race.

Friesen took the lead on lap 23 and pulled away to a big lead and another feature win with Warner, McAuliffe, Jack Lehner and Bobby Varin completing the event’s top five.

Calabrese took his first win of the season and the fifth Fonda checkered flag of his career in the Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman division, taking the lead from Dan Santabarbara on a restart and holding off a charge from Tim Hartman Jr. to secure the victory. Aaron Burton, Chad Edwards and Tim Dwyer completed to top five.

“We’ve been struggling this year and I honestly didn’t think I was gonna get to victory lane this year,” Calabrese said in victory lane. “We have had a lot of bad luck so far this year, some of it self-inflicted, but we have been working so hard and I knew that I had to put my helmet on and get to work. I am excited about the rest of the season; we have a good piece here.”

The Algonkin Motel Pro Stock feature saw a thrilling race as Luke Horning took the lead out of turn four on lap 15, only for Stone to go three-wide to get past Horning and Josh Coonradt for the lead three laps later. Stone held on for the win followed by Horning, Coonradt, Kenny Gates and Shane Playford.

Ken Hollenback led only one lap of the Fonda Fair Four Cylinder feature, but it was the most important one as he won by a nose after a four-wide race to the checkered flag to the overall race win. Slappy White was declared the winner in the dual cam class with John Napoli, Kerrie Hollenback and Jeff Tubbs completing the top five.

Danny Varin led the first two laps of the 30-lap Earl Halaquist Memorial Sprint Car event until Colagiovanni took over the lead and led the remaining laps for the $3,000-to-win event. Varin, Davie Franek, Jordan Thomas, and Chad Miller completed the top five.

SUNOCO MODIFIED (30 laps) — STEWART FRIESEN, Rocky Warner, Adam McAuliffe, Jack Lehner, Bobby Varin, Ronnie Johnson, Craig Hanson, Dave Constantino, Jessica Friesen, Pep Corradi, David Schilling, Mike Mahaney, Josh Hohenforst, Brian Pessolano, JaMike Sowle, Rich Christman, Ancel Collins, EJ McAuliffe, Steve Akers, Aaron Jacobs, Corey Lowitt, Jim Introne Jr., George Foley, Brian Calabrese, Ronnie Holmes.

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN (25 laps) — BRIAN CALABRESE, Tim Hartman Jr., Aaron Burton, Chad Edwards, Tim Dwyer, Addison Bowman, Tucker O’Connor, Payton Talbot, Mark Mortensen, Tony Farone, Mike Ketchum, Dan Santabarbara, Brian Borst, Michael Ballestero, Ray Zemken, Chip Constantino, Tanner Warner, Jason Reome, Griffen Mansmith, Brendan Gibbons, Kathy Bellen, Troy Zilles, Jeremiah Munson, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Cody Clark, Jason Greco, Greg Havlichek.

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK (20 laps) — NICK STONE, Luke Horning, Josh Coonradt, Kenny Gates, Shane Playford, Chuck Dumblewski, Bill Knapp, Frank Hoard Jr., AJ Walters, Jason Morrison, Gary Silkey, John Holmes, Chuck McSpirit, Steve Cosselman, Ivan Joslin, Terry Graves, Chris Cross, Kyle Hoard, Cliff Haslun, Scott Towslee, Malcum Warner, Jim Normoyle, Randy Cosselman-DNS, Andy Graves-DNS.

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN (15 laps) — KYLE DINGMAN, Jeremy Tyrrell, Stephen Gray, Clayton DuMond, Carter Gibbons, Jonathan Feagles, Taylor LaPlante, Lance Hill, John Young, Ryan Sweet, Bob Rowback, Larry McGillis, John Anderson-DNS.

FONDA FAIR FOUR CYLINDER (12 laps) — KEN HOLLENBACK (SOHC), SLAPPY WHITE (DOHC), John Napoli, Kerrie Hollenback, Jeff Tubbs, David Peek-Britten, Lee Horning, Riley Pedrick, Jean Foster, Wayne Russell Jr., TJ Marlitt, Brandon Tyler, Dale Van Allen.

PATRIOT SPRINT TOUR EARL HALAQUIST MEMORIAL (30 laps) — PAULIE COLAGIOVANNI, Danny Varin, Davie Franek, Jordan Thomas, Chad Miller, Joe Trenka, Jeff Trombley, Josh Pieniazek, Chuck Hebing, Matt Tanner, Jeremiah Munson, Jeff Cook, Jake Karklin, Dave Axton, Steve Glover, Floyd Billington, Jesse Pruchink, Travis Billington, Brett Wright, Dalton Herrick, Will Hull, Mike Kiser.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply