Capital Region

Section II pitchers Arceneaux, West, Carpenter make state softball hall of fame


Three star pitchers from Section II are among the 17 individuals who have been selected by the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls Sports for induction into the New York State High School Softball Hall of Fame.

The Section II cast includes former Mechanicville ace Anna Arceneaux, who will be joining both her sister Abby and father Don in the state softball hall of fame, as well as Saratoga Springs graduate Robyn West and South Glens Falls product Marissa Carpenter.

The induction ceremony for the Class of 2022 will take place at the Mudville softball complex in Herkimer at a date still to be determined.

With her pitching and hitting, Anna Arceneaux helped Mechanicville win four consecutive Section II championships from 2008-11, and her teams went on to claim New York titles in 2008 (Class C) and 2009 (Class B). Her 2010 and 2011 teams both reached the state final four.

Arceneaux was named to the all-state first team four times, and was tabbed the state Class B co-Player of the Year as a junior in 2010.

West was a part of Saratoga’s 1994 Section II Class A title-winning team, and the all-star helped the Blue Streaks reach the area championship game in each of the next three seasons before later competing for Providence College.

Carpenter was a key member of four straight Section II Class A title-winning teams from 2005-08. She led the Bulldogs to the state championship in 2007 when she went 22-0 on the mound, a state runner-up finish in 2008.

The rest of the Class of 2022 is made up of Christia Mohan-Besko (California, Arlington) and Coach/Contributor Tony Toronto (North Rockland, Nanuet) from Section I; Coach Nick Spataro (Liverpool) from Section III; Char Dodd (Susquehanna Valley, Coach Dave Ligeikis (Binghamton Seton), Paige Rauch (Windsor, Binghamton) and Coach/Contributor Jim Testa (Union-Endicott) from Section IV; Hannah Anderson (Caledonia-Mumford), Coach Stan Harris (Bolivar-Richburg) and Bridgett Newman (Hilton) from Section V; Corinne Genovese (Williamsville North) from Section VI; Sarah Cornell (Westbury Clarke) from Section VIII; Marissa Diescher (Livingston Manor) from Section IX; and Jaime Grillo (Brentwood) from Section XI.

The New York State High School Softball Hall of Fame was established in 2012 by the NYSSCOGS with the idea of recognizing the very best former players, coaches and contributors that have impacted the game of high school softball in New York State.

Categories: High School Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply