The Sea The Sea, Joel Brown snag top Eddies Awards

Mira and Chuck Costa of the Troy-based band The Sea The Sea.

Mira and Chuck Costa of the Troy-based band The Sea The Sea.

Local artists The Sea The Sea and Joel Brown were the big winners at the 2021 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards on Sunday.

Announced at Universal Preservation Hall before a live audience, the awards recognized the work of musicians, producers, presenters, journalists and others involved in the local music community in 2020.

The Sea The Sea won Album of the Year and Joel Brown tied with the band for Record of the Year. Nippertown was awarded Arts Publication of the Year and Jim Gilbert of Nippertown won Arts Journalist of the Year. WEXT also received two awards: Radio Station of the Year and Radio DJ of the Year (Chris Wienk).

The Eddies Special Merit Awards, a new addition meant to honor those who contributed to the music community but didn’t necessarily meet the criteria for the other award categories, were also announced. Among the recipients was Eddies co-founder Sal Prizio, who is leaving the area for an out-of-state job opportunity.

The awards are organized by Proctors Collaborative. For information, visit

Here’s the full list of recipients:

Arts Publication of the Year: Nippertown

Arts Journalist of the Year: Jim Gilbert (Nippertown)

Radio Station of the Year: WEXT

Radio DJ of the Year: Chris Wienk (WEXT)

Recording Studio of the Year: Blue Sky Music Studios

Record Label of the Year (tie): Cacophone Records; Upstate Records

Best Presenter of Virtual Live Music Shows: Caffe Lena — “Stay Home Sessions”

Best Live Virtual Performance(s) by an Artist Show or Series — Covers: Moriah Formica

Best Live Virtual Performance(s) by an Artist Show or Series — Original Music: Sean Rowe, “Quarantined”

Best Socially Distant In-Person Live Music Series: Jericho Drive-In Series

The Eddies Special Merit Award: Erin Harkes, “The Reluctant Retailer”

The Eddies Special Merit Award: Roger & Christine Sharp (High Peaks Event Production), “Red Light Project”

The Eddies Special Merit Award: First Reformed Church of Schenectady, “Jazz Vespers”

The Eddies Special Merit Award: Sal Prizio, co-founder, the Eddies Music Awards

Songwriter of the Year: Girl Blue

Music Video of the Year: Buggy Jive, “Ain’t Going Anywhere”

Record of the Year (tie): Joel Brown, “Everyone’s Gone Home”; The Sea The Sea, “A Thousand Years”

Album of the Year: The Sea The Sea, “Stumbling Home”

Categories: Entertainment, Life and Arts

Leave a Reply