Sports briefs: Section II football players earn all-state honors


Nearly 60 Section II football players from classes B, C and D were recognized Wednesday as members of New York State Sportswriters Association’s all-state teams, including eight players who earned first-team selections.

The first-team all-state honorees were Glens Falls running back Griffin Woodell and Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk linebacker Ryan Southworth in Class B, the Schuylerville trio of quarterback Owen Sherman, offensive lineman Carson Patrick and all-purpose player Ryan Down in Class C, and the Greenwich trio of running back Matthew Conlin, defensive lineman Ethan Banfield and linebacker Jesse Kuzmich along with the Warrensburg/North Warren duo of all-purpose player Dylan Winchell and linebacker Tristen Hitchcock and Stillwater offensive lineman Michael Campion in Class D.

Also selected in Class B were Glens Falls offensive lineman Cole Bennett and Ravena defensive lineman Erik Chapman on the second team, Gloversville offensive end Gio Glionna and Ravena defensive back Xavier Bermudez on the third team, Schalmont defensive back Max Pratt and Ravena linebacker Landon Cardone on the fourth team, and Schalmont defensive lineman Rocco Whipple and Glens Falls linebacker Gavin Williams on the fifth team.

Class B honorable mention selections were running back Frankie Broadhurst (Ravena); offensive end Dominic Dorman (Gloversville); all-purpose player Brandon Fish (Hudson Falls); linemen Hayden Benton (Broadalbin-Perth), Kenneth Crump (Scotia-Glenville); Evan Kwasniewski (Hudson Falls); Michael McMullen (Ravena) and Pat Pohl (Broadalbin-Perth); linebacker Cody Lewis (Hudson Falls) and defensive backs Jevon Beckett (Lansingburgh), Kaden Graves (Scotia-Glenville) and Logan Hardt (Lansingburgh).

Class C honorees were Schuylerville running back Lukas Sherman and offensive lineman Ryan Peck along with Fonda-Fultonville lienbacker Giovanni DiCaprio on the second team, and Fonda-Fultonville punter Connor Weaver, Coblesill-Richmondville linebacker Austin Henry and Hoosick Falls/Tamarac linebacker Jake Sparks on the third team. Receiving honorable mention were running back Joe Tomlin (Voorheesville), offensive ends Zach Bowen (Schuylerville) and Sal Liardo (Cobleskill-Richmondville); linemen Rich Clark (Voorheesville), Hunter Hathaway (Hoosick Falls/Tamarac); Alex Marsceill (Watervliet); Tanner Music (Hoosick Falls/Tamarac); Jacob Ryan (Hoosick Falls/Tamarac) and Tyler Schmidtmann (Fonda-Fultonville); all-purpose player Amel Conway (Watervliet); linebacker Nyheem Pickney (Watervliet) and defensive back Owen Hicks (Fonda-Fultonville).

In Class D, Stillwater running back CJ McNeil and Greenwich linebacker Gavin Blair took spots on the second team. Earning honorable mention were running back Matt Radley (Chatham), offensive end Deontae Bennett (Greenwich), lineman Anthony Cocozzo (Stillwater), kicker Declan Kelleher (Greenwich), punter Alex Luke (Cambridge/Salem), linebacker Caleb Dyer (Stilwlater) and defensive backs Parker Jamieson (Greenwich) and Tim Kelly (Warrensburg/North Warren).


LOUDONVILLE — The 2022 MAAC Cross Country Championship will return to the Capital Region, Siena Athletics and the MAAC announced Wednesday.

The race will take place at The Crossings of Colonie. Siena will serve as the event’s host for the second time, having previously hosted in 2018. The school was also awarded the bid for the 2020 championships prior to its cancellation due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Siena’s cross country teams were both successful at the 2021 MAAC championships. The women placed second as a team, with senior Olivia Lomascolo taking third for the program’s best-ever individual finish. The men also had their best individual finish ever with Brandon Olden in fourth, and took third as a team.


ALBANY —  A total of eight different UAlbany football players have collected 2021 Phil Steele Postseason FCS All-America and All-Conference honors. Two were named to the Freshman All-America and All-CAA Teams, while an additional six Great Danes also collected All-CAA Team honors.

Leading the way were linebacker Jackson Ambush and defensive end Jared Verse, who were both named to the 2021 Phil Steele FCS Freshman All-America 1st Team Defense. In addition, Verse was named to the Phil Steele FCS All-CAA 3rd Team Defense, and Ambush was named to the 4th Team Defense. 

Verse, who last week announced his decision to transfer to Florida State, finished third in the CAA with 0.95 sacks per game. Ambush finished the year with 97 tackles, including 53 solo stops, and was fifth in the CAA with 8.82 tackles per game.

Joining Verse and Ambush on the Phil Steele FCS All-CAA Team Defense was Larry Walker Jr. (2nd Team), Anthony Lang (3rd Team), and Danny Damico (4th Team).

Running back Karl Mofor was placed on the Phil Steele FCS All-CAA 1st Team Offense after placing second in the CAA with 87.4 yards per game. Mofor finished the year with 962 yards, 12 rushing touchdowns and one receiving score. Freshman wide receiver Roy Alexander earned a spot on the 4th Team Offense.

Finally, kicker Dylan Burns was named to the All-CAA 3rd Team on special teams.


TROY — The RPI women’s lacrosse program unveiled its 15-game 2022 schedule on Wednesday. The Engineers will open their season with back-to-back non-conference home games, facing SUNY Oneonta on Feb. 25 and Westfield State on March 1 at Renwyck Field.

The season also includes a two-game trip to Colorado Springs, Colorado, to visit Colorado College on March 7 and play a neutral-site game against Baldwin-Wallace on March 9.

RPI will play its Liberty League opener March 19 at Ithaca, then open up its home conference slate March 23 against Union.

Categories: Sports


No Comment.