Capital Region

Shenendehowa’s Huerter among Suburban Council girls’ basketball all-stars

Shenendehowa's Jillian Huerter handles the ball in front of Troy's Kaya George Friday, January 28, 2022.

Shenendehowa's Jillian Huerter handles the ball in front of Troy's Kaya George Friday, January 28, 2022.

Averill Park senior Amelia Wood was named the most valuable player for the 2021-22 Suburban Council girls’ basketball all-star team.

Wood helped lead the Warriors to their eighth consecutive Section II Class A title.

Earning first-team honors were Shenendehowa’s Jillian Huerter, Saratoga Springs’ Natasha Chudy, Burnt Hills’ Carlie Rzeszotarski, Colonie’s Jayla Tyler and Bethlehem’s Maren Louridas.

Shenendehowa’s Kaleigh Montanez earned second-team honors along with Sahker’s Kaelah Carter, Averill Park’s Michelina Lombardi and Albany’s Shonyae Edmonds and Me’Chelle Cancer.

More from Clifton Park and Halfmoon – The Daily Gazette

Earning third-team honors were Burnt Hills’ Callie Chevalier, Saratoga Springs’ Carly Wise, Shenendehowa’s Bri Carey, Shaker’s Emily Satterday and Bethlehem’s Ellie Cerf.

The Amsterdam boys’ and girls’ basketball teams were well-represented on the recently announced Foothills Council all-star teams.

Amsterdam’s Ceasar Thompson was named to the boys’ first team, while JaSean Vann was selected as a third-team all-star. The Rams went 16-6 overall and 15-3 in Foothills Council play this season, losing to Gloversville in the Section II Class A quarterfinals.

More High School Sports – The Daily Gazette

Sydney Hoefs was named a first-team girls’ all-star, while Sierra Goodson, Ashley DiCarlo and Rosie Sculco were named honorable mention. The team went 17-3 overall and 16-2 in Foothills Council play this season.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Mariano DiCaterino and Gloversville’s Giorgio Glionna were named second-team Foothills all-stars. The Patriots posted a 10-11 overall record and an 8-10 league mark this season, while the Dragons went 14-10 overall, 9-9 in Foothills play, and reached the Class A title game before losing to Mekeel Christian Academy. Gloversville started the season 1-5 before finishing it by winning 10 of its last 12 games.

Hudson Falls’ Peyton Smith was named the Foothills Council’s most valuable player. Smith helped the Tigers claim the league title this season.

Glens Falls’ Kellen Driscoll, Hudson Falls’ Benjamin Swartz, Schuylerville’s Owen Sherman and Scotia-Glenville’s Benjamin Kline were named first-team all-stars.

Joining DiCaterino and Glionna on the second team were Hudson Falls’ Evan Krasniewski, Queensbury’s Trevon Bailey and Schuylerville’s Lukas Sherman.

More Sports – The Daily Gazette

Scotia-Glenville’s Aaron Corker and Griffin Fraterrigo were named to the third team, along with Glens Falls’ Cooper Nadler and Griffin Woodell.

Johnstown, which went 1-19 overall and 1-17 in the Foothills Council, did not have any players named to the all-star team.

Johnstown’s Jaden Wilson and Jaidyn Chest were named first-team Foothills Council all-stars, along with Queensbury’s Kendra Ballard and Brigid Duffy. The Lady Bills went 10-11 overall and 10-8 in Foothills play.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Molly Russom was named to the second team, while Gloversville’s Zoie Tesi and Broadalbin-Perth’s Emma Goebel were named honorable mention. B-P went 12-9 overall and 11-7 in Foothills Council play, while Gloversville posted a 2-18 overall record and an 0-18 Foothills mark.

South Glens Falls’ Sydney Hart was named most valuable player.

South Glens Falls also had Kaitlin McDonough named to the second team. She was joined by Schuylerville’s Macey Koval, Glens Falls’ Ashley Bordeaux and Queensbury’s Shea Canavan.

Rounding out the league all-star team were honorable-mention selections Delaney Donohue (Queensbury), Tori Lemorta (Scotia-Glenville), Seneca Williamson (Hudson Falls) and Lauren King (Schuylerville).

More High School Sports – The Daily Gazette

Categories: Clifton Park and Halfmoon, High School Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply