NFL Coach of the Year odds: Will Titans’ Mike Vrabel repeat, or a first-year head coach win the award?

Tennessee Titans head coach Mike Vrabel watches as players take part in a drill at the team's practice facility on June 7 in Nashville, Tenn. (AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)
Tennessee Titans head coach Mike Vrabel watches as players take part in a drill at the team's practice facility on June 7 in Nashville, Tenn. (AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

Over the last three seasons, coaches from the AFC have taken home the Associated Press NFL Coach of the Year award after NFC coaches won the award in the eight years previous.

Since 2010, there has only been two repeat winners: former Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera won the award in 2013 and 2015, and former Arizona Cardinals and Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Bruce Arians won it in 2012 and 2014.

However, veteran coaches aren’t winning the award as often as they did in the early 2010’s. Over the last five seasons, three of the five coaches who won AP Coach of the Year were in their first seasons with their teams (Sean McVay: 2017, Matt Nagy: 2018, Kevin Stefanski: 2020).

With a total of 10 new head coaches in the NFL in 2022, including five who are holding the position for the first time, there’s a good chance the winner of the award will come from within this group.

Oddsmakers at Caesars Sportsbook seem to agree with that sentiment, as two of the six coaches tied for the best odds to win the award are new head coaches in 2022.

Listed with +1500 or 15/1 odds, San Francisco 49ers head Kyle Shanahan, new Minnesota Vikings head Kevin O’Connell, last year’s winner Mike Vrabel, new Denver Broncos coach Nathaniel Hackett, Los Angeles Chargers’ Brandon Staley and Los Angeles Rams’ Sean McVay are all tied as the favorite to be the coach of year.

After those six coaches, Detroit Lions head coach Dan Campbell (+1700), Philadelphia Eagles head coach Nick Sirianni, Cincinnati Bengals head coach Zac Taylor, Indianapolis Colts head coach Frank Reich and Buffalo Bills coach Sean McDermott (+1800) round out the top 11 odds to win the award.

New Orleans Saints first-year head coach Dennis Allen is in the middle of the pact, with 25/1 odds to win the award.

Values on Board?

This is a tough category to bet on because every team is one or two injuries away from having their season turned upside down. Just ask the 2021 Saints about how injuries changed the tune of their season.

If there was a handful of names to target on this list, one would certainly be Josh McDaniels at 22/1 to win Coach of the Year. Taking over a Las Vegas Raiders team fresh off a playoff berth, McDaniels has a chance to get this team to the next step, with the addition of Davante Adams at receiver, plus maximize the stellar quarterback play from Derek Carr.

In a relatively weak NFC North this season, where the Green Bay Packers and Minnesota Vikings have questions about their squad, Dan Campbell and the Lions could be starting to build a winner in the Motor City. Taking Campbell at 17/1 odds could be an interesting play if the team can put together a playoff-caliber season.

Here’s a look at the full odds for 2022 NFL Coach of the Year, with all odds provided by Caesars Sportsbook.

2022 Coach Of The Year Award odds

Kyle Shanahan, San Francisco 49ers: +1500

Kevin O’Connell, Minnesota Vikings: +1500

Mike Vrabel, Tennessee Titans: +1500

Nathaniel Hackett, Denver Broncos: +1500

Brandon Staley, Los Angeles Chargers: +1500

Sean McVay, Los Angeles Rams: +1500

Dan Campbell, Detroit Lions: +1700

Nick Sirianni, Philadelphia Eagles: +1800

Zac Taylor, Cincinnati Bengals: +1800

Frank Reich, Indianapolis Colts: +1800

Sean McDermott, Buffalo Bills: +1800

Doug Pederson, Jacksonville Jaguars: +2000

Mike McDaniel, Miami Dolphins: +2000

Brian Daboll, New York Giants: +2000

Kevin Stefanski, Cleveland Browns: +2000

Bill Belichick, New England Patriots: +2000

Todd Bowles, Tampa Bay Buccaneers: +2000

Josh McDaniels, Las Vegas Raiders: +2200

Matt LaFleur, Green Bay Packers: +2500

Dennis Allen, New Orleans Saints: +2500

Andy Reid, Kansas City Chiefs: +2500

John Harbaugh, Baltimore Ravens: +2500

Matt Rhule, Carolina Panthers: +3000

Mike Tomlin, Pittsburgh Steelers: +3000

Ron Rivera, Washington Commanders: +3000

Mike McCarthy, Dallas Cowboys: +3000

Kliff Kingsbury, Arizona Cardinals: +3000

Robert Saleh, New York Jets: +3500

Matt Eberflus, Chicago Bears: +4000

Arthur Smith, Atlanta Falcons: +4500

Pete Carroll, Seattle Seahawks: +6000

Lovie Smith, Houston Texans: +6000

Categories: Upstate Action

Leave a Reply