High schools: Dopp, big second quarter lead Mayfield girls’ basketball to WAC win

Mayfield's Cloey Dopp, left, and Middleburgh's Emma Lacko go after a loose ball Wednesday.

Mayfield's Cloey Dopp, left, and Middleburgh's Emma Lacko go after a loose ball Wednesday.

Cloey Dopp scored 25 points as Mayfield cruised to a 69-17 Western Athletic Conference girls’ basketball victory over Middleburgh on Wednesday. Katarina Agerter, Jaidyn Chest and Kiarah Levine each added eight points for Mayfield, which used a 24-6 second quarter to take a 35-10 halftime lead.

Angelina Deitz scored 26 points and Mia Wylie chipped in 15 to lead Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ 53-37 victory against OESJ. Brooke Trumble finished with a team-high 16 points for OESJ, which also got 11 points from Sydney Hazzard.

Hailey Monroe put up 25 points and Leah Valovic scored 11 for Northville in the Falcons’ 45-40 win over Berne-Knox-Westerlo. McKenzie Schwenk’s 16 points led the way for Berne-Knox-Westerlo, with Ashlee Stevens adding 11 points.

Schoharie pulled out a defense-first 34-29 win over Fort Plain, with Alaina Martin scoring a game-high 13 points to lead the win.

In the Colonial Council, Voorheesville’s Mia Carmody scored 16 points and Bella Carmody scored 11 as the Blackbirds beat Cohoes 67-49. Quincy Hytko led Cohoes with 14 points.

In the Wasaren League, Mechanicville cruised past Berlin 62-11 behind 12 points from Lila Christensen and 11 points from Sophia Tamasi.

Amsterdam was a 62-22 winner over Johnstown in a Foothills Council matchup. Rosie Sculco’s 18 points topped Amsterdam, while Liana Brown chipped in 14. Claire Anderson led Johnstown with eight points.


Esiasyn Starr erupted for 37 points in Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ 107-61 Western Athletic Conference boys’ basketball win over OESJ. Dequawn Gheen added 25 points for Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons, while OESJ got 23 points from Collin Eakin and 20 from Colten Christensen.

Fonda-Fultonville scored a 66-31 victory over Canajoharie. Brady Whipple scored 17 points and Riley Wilson scored 14 for Fonda-Fultonville, while Antonio Fairley led Canajoharie with 15 points and Nick Barlow scored nine.

Ten different Duanesburg players, led by Jeffrey Mulhern with 14 points and Lucas Negron with eight, scored in the Eagles’ 54-25 win over Josh Lovelass and Joe DeVellis led Galway, scoring six points each. 

Dayne Coates scored 21 points and Shane Kirker scored 18 for Berne-Knox-Westerlo in a 70-59 win over Northville, which was led by Jacob Frank’s 24 points.

Trevor Ruberti logged 27 points, leading Mayfield in a 58-37 win over Middleburgh. Troy Cammer’s 13 points led the scoring column for Middleburgh.

In Suburban Council action, CBA beat Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 68-57. Four players scored in double figures for CBA, led by Jason Vogel and Matt Sgambati with 13 points apiece. Burnt Hills’ Luke Haluska scored a game-high 20 points, and the Spartans also got 10 points from Alex Doin.

Columbia, led by 16 points from Evan Rainville, beat Shenendehowa 56-50 thanks to a decisive 21-13 fourth quarter. Ethan Rudd led Shenendehowa with 14 points, while Andrew Massaroni and Miles Peterson each scored 12.

Ballston Spa’s Nick Verdile scored 33 points in leading the Scotties to a 71-61 win over Shaker. Colby Haver and Zacharie Matulu each scored 14 points to lead Shaker.

Carson Carrow’s 21-point effort led Voorheesville in a 55-46 win over Cobleskill-Richmondville. Ty LaBarge led Cobleskill-Richmondville with 16 points, while Nick Petersen scored 12 and Zowen Collins scored 10


Led by Courtney Krawiecki in third place and Iris Wiedmann in fifth, the Shenendehowa girls captured the team title in the Mayfield Nordic Invitational at Lapland Lake.

Krawiecki finished the 7.5-kilometer course in 28 minutes, 11.3 seconds, trailing only Glens Falls’ Clara Avery (26:23.4) and Mayfield’s Fianna Halloran (27:02.4). Saratoga Springs’ Emma Murray (28:27.4) and Wiedmann (29:17.8) completed the top five.

Queensbury’s Ben Jenkin won the boys’ race in 21:46.7, leading the Spartans to first place in the team competition. Following him across the line were Glens Falls’ Forrest Slingerland (22:25.4), Mayfield’s Brice Williams (24:10.3), Shenendehowa’s Lionel Wiedmann (25:39.3) and Queensbury’s Josh Jenkin (25:51.8).


Shenendehowa’s Micaela Leonard won the girls’ race and Broadalbin-Perth’s Colin Cotter won the boys’ race to lead Alpine ski competition in the Saratoga Invitational at Willard Mountain.

Leonard won her race with a run of 36.31 seconds, with teammate Allison Bach in second at 36.81 as Shenendehowa won the girls’ team title.

Cotter had the fastest boys’ run of 30.21 seconds, with Queensbury’s Hudson Montgomery (30.85) and Shenendehowa’s Brady Miller (31.37) just behind him. Johnstown’s Carter Cheney was fourth, and the Sir Bills had four skiers in the top eight to win the team event.

Categories: -Sports-, High School Sports

Leave a Reply