Racing Around: DIRTcar 358 Series makes successful debut at Glen Ridge

Racers pose in winner’s circle

Billy Dunn, center, is flanked by runner-up Mike Mahaney, left, and Mat Williamson after winning the 50-lap DIRTcar 358-Modified Series race Sunday at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

With 47 small-block modifieds in the pits and the grandstands full of fans, the first trip to Glen Ridge Motorsports Park Sunday by the DIRTcar 358 Series would have to be deemed successful.

Billy Dunn put the knowledge he gained on opening night at The Ridge to good use as he slipped past Mat Williamson on lap 39 of the 50 lap feature and held off Mike Mahaney over the closing laps to claim the $4,000 winner’s check.

“It was a heck of a track and I am glad to see all the fans here,” Dunn said in victory lane. “It is really special to get the win here. I raced here on almost a weekly basis about 15 years ago but to get this one and start the series this way makes me feel good.”

Mahaney crossed the line second with Williamson, who led the opening 38 laps of the feature, finished third with Mathieu Desjardins fourth and Stewart Friesen fifth. Lance Willix, who has two wins at The Ridge this season, came home sixth, followed by Felix Roy, Jordan McCreadie, Tyler Meeks and Jordan McCreadie to round out the top 10 from the 30-car starting grid.

Zach Buff grabbed the lead from Brendan Gibbons on the fourth lap of the 30-lap DIRTcar Sportsman feature to pick up his first win of the season. Andrew Buff finished third, followed by Ricky Quick and Tony Farone.

Steve Cosselman led the DIRTcar Pro Stock field from green-to-checkers to post his first win of the season Sunday over Slater Baker, Johnny Rivers, Chuck McSpirit and Kyle Weiler.

Kolton Weiler picked up the Limited Sportsman victory, while Matt Mosher won the Street Stock main event over Jason Samrov. Billy Hillman and Bruce Liddle, respectfully, won the Dual Cam and Single Cam Mini Stock features, while EJ Hatch won his first Junior Slingshot feature of the year and A.J. Albreada ran his unbeaten streak to five in the All-Star Slingshot division.

Glen Ridge Motorsports Park returns to action Sunday with the Pro Stock division running its make-up feature from the opening night rainout along with their regularly scheduled feature.

The Ridge will honor all Little Leaguers with free grandstand admission for all players wearing their uniforms.


Riley Mortuary presents Special Olympics of New York Night

The Red Chair DIRTcar 358 Modified Series (50 laps) — Billy Dunn, Mike Mahaney, Mat Williamson, Mathieu Desjardins, Stewart Friesen, Lance Willix, Felix Roy, Jordan McCreadie, Tyler Meeks, Adam Pierson, Garrett Poland, Jarrett Herbison, Chris Raabe, Dave Marcuccilli, Ryan Bartlett, Dalton Slack, Tyler Jashembowski, Steve Lewis, Jr., Darryl Mitchell, Carter Gibbons, Brian Calabrese, Chris Mackey, C.J. Castelletti, Marshall Hurd, Taylor Wason, Corey Cormier, Tanner VanDoren, Bill August, Tucker O’Connor, Brian Pessalono Tommy Collins, Jr. (DNS).

Classic Muscle Parts DIRTcar Sportsman (20 laps) — Zach Buff, Brendan Gibbons, Andrew Buff, Ricky Quick, Tony Farone, Derrick McGrew Jr., Cody Ochs, Taylor Doxtater, Tavin Blowers, Al McCoy, Brian Hudson, Joe Pravia, Tyler Stevenson, Remmington Hamm

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro-Stocks (20 laps) — Steve Cosselman, Slater Baker, Johnny Rivers, Chuck McSpirit, Kyle Weiler, Shawn Perez Jr., Luke Horning, Richard Spencer

Limited Sportsman (15 laps) – Kolton Weiler, Connor Hearn, Zach McSpirit (DQ).

Street Stocks (15 laps) — Matt Mosher, Jason Samrov, Jason Barrett, Milo Campbell, Rob VanAernam.

Leatherstocking Credit Union DIRTcar Mini Stocks (Dual Cam/15 laps) — Billy Hillman, Jay Ingersoll, Rudy King, Jr., Damian Ward, Keith Tesiero, Jr., Brian Blanck, Nicholas Bunn, Jordan Ryder, Olivia Swinton.

Leatherstocking Credit Union Mini Stocks (Single Cam/15 Laps) — Bruce Liddle, Keith Chorba, Daniel Joubert, Hayleigh Gates, Jamie Warner, Wayne Russell, Jr., Andrew Palmer, Blaze Post, TJ Marlitt.

Northeast Paving and Sealcoat All-Star Slingshots (15 laps) — AJ Albreada, Brett Putnam, Kirsten Swartz, Adam Fusco, Jason Dufel, Alex Boisvert, Dave Viall, Sloan Cherko, Scott Sprague, Gina Voris, Corky Warner.

Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshots (12 laps) — EJ Hatch, Bodie Marks, Lucas Cole, Blake Patrick, Mason Gray, Jayden Wust, James Hatch, Jr, Colton White, Sullivan Dickey, Kolton Gamble, Alexandria Cosselman, Logan Carter, Tavin Wingord, Alex Viall, Aiden Wingord.


The formal release of the book “LAZZARO: The Man and His Machines,” by longtime Central New York sports journalist Ron Moshier will take place this Saturday at Fonda Speedway.

Moshier and members of the Lazzaro family will be on hand to autograph copies at the Fonda Speedway Hall of Fame and Museum at the speedway from 3-6 p.m. Published by Coastal 181, books will be available for purchase for $29.95.

The book traces Lou Lazzaro’s legendary career from its modest beginnings as a teenager in the 1950s to his winning ways on dirt and asphalt, and finally to an emotionally charged farewell at Fonda Speedway.

Lazzaro was a track champion at Fonda, Vernon’s Utica-Rome Speedway, the old Victoria Speedway in Dunnsville and Malta’s Albany-Saratoga Speedway. He won 251 Sportsman and Modified features at 21 different tracks in the Northeast, Canada and Florida. Nicknamed “The Monk,” Lazzaro was 64 years old when he recorded the last of his 113 Fonda wins in 1999. He died on May 1, 2000, a few days after falling ill and dropping out of the Fonda feature.

A book signing event will also take place at Utica-Rome Speedway on June 23. Signing dates at other tracks will be announced later in the racing season.


Derrick McGrew Jr. will be looking to improve on his top-10 finish in his ARCA Menard series debut at Flat Rock Speedway in Michigan when he gets the start in the Rise Motorsports No. 31 at Berlin Raceway in Marne Michigan on June 17 in the Berlin ARCA 200.

Built in 1951, Berlin Raceway is listed as a 7/16-mile paved oval with rounded, nine-degree banked straightaways and 13-degree banked corners. The race is scheduled to be broadcast on FS1 starting at 8 p.m. on June 17.


The 26th Annual Vintage Café Car Show will take place Thursday in downtown Johnstown from 6 to 8 p.m. The event is free to the public with a $5 entry fee for cars that is donated to the Johnstown Historical Society. The event featuring antique and custom cars will also offer live entertainment and food vendors.

Albany-Saratoga Speedway will warm up for Tuesday’s Summer Starter 71-lap, $7,500-to-win DIRTcar Series event for Big Block Modifieds with a full race card featuring a $3,000-to-win modified feature Friday night.

The Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series will join the regular weekly race program Saturday night at Fonda Speedway. It is also New York State Stock Car Association (NYSSCA) Night at the “Track of Champions with safety awards being presented to the top NYSSCA finisher in each feature.

Utica-Rome Speedway will host the CRSA 305 Sprint Cars as well as the Tobias Slingshots as part of its regular race program on Friday night.

Saturday, Lebanon Valley Speedway and Prime Time Mac Tools and Doherty Brother Construction will honor First Responders with free grandstand admission for a full regular race program featuring features for the big and small block modifieds and Sportsman, Pro Stock, Street Stock, Limited Sportsman and 4-cylinder divisions.

Categories: Fulton Montgomery Schoharie, Sports

Leave a Reply