<> Godlewski forces primary for District 4 seats | The Daily Gazette

Subscriber login

Schenectady News

Godlewski forces primary for District 4 seats

Godlewski forces primary for District 4 seats

Rotterdam Deputy Supervisor Robert Godlewski has filed a petition to force a Democratic primary in S

Rotterdam Deputy Supervisor Robert Godlewski has filed a petition to force a Democratic primary in Schenectady County Legislative District 4.

Godlewski filed a designating petition with the Schenectady County Board of Elections on Tuesday, according to Democratic Commissioner Brian Quail.

If the petition survives a challenge, Godlewski would force a primary also involving Democrats Angelo Santabarbara and Anthony Jasenski. The Schenectady County Democratic Committee has endorsed Santabarbara and Jasenski in the race for two open seats in District 4, which consists of Rotterdam, Duanesburg and Princetown.

Godlewski was not available for comment. He has until Monday to drop his primary bid, according to the county Board of Elections.

Bradley Belfance of Rotterdam has filed a general objection to Godlewski’s petition. Belfance has six days to file specific challenges, which, if successful, would knock Godlewski out of the primary. Party sources, however, said Godlewski’s petition appears solid.

Both Santabarbara and Jasenski are seeking re-election to seats in District 4. Santabarbara is a professional engineer, while Jasenski is a real estate agent, former Rotterdam Town Board member and a retired chief of police in Rotterdam. Both are seeking second four-year terms.

Santabarbara was elected as a Republican in 2007, but switched his party enrollment to join the county Legislature’s Democratic majority in January 2010. He then ran unsuccessfully for the 105th Assembly District seat against Republican incumbent George Amedore. Democrats appointed Jasenski to the Legislature in 2007. He replaced Majority Leader Kent Gray, who resigned that year to take a job with the state.

The Republican challengers in District 4 are Wade Abbott and Stan Marchinkowski. Abbott is a member of the New York Tea Party Patriots and helped form the “No New Tax Party” in Rotterdam in 2009. Marchinkowski is a former Town Board member and investigator with the state Insurance Fund.

Godlewski was elected to a four-year term on the Town Board in 2009. He had served on the board for one year in 2007.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY
Thank you for reading. You have reached your 30-day premium content limit.
Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber or if you are a current print subscriber activate your online access.