Subscriber login

What you need to know for 10/22/2017

Union goalie Grosenick not named Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalist

Union goalie Grosenick not named Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalist

Led Dutchmen to Frozen Four.

Despite helping Union reach its first NCAA hockey Frozen Four appearance in the program's 21-year Division I history, Union sophomore goalie Troy Grosenick wasn't named Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick finalist, it was announced Thursday.

The three finalists are all forwards: Colgate's Austin Smith, Maine's Spencer Abbott and Minnesota Dultuh's Jack Connolly.

Grosenick is 22-5-3 with a 1.64 goals-against average, a .936 save percentage and five shutouts. He won the Ken Dryden Award as ECAC Hockey goalie of the year after going 11-3-1 with a 1.60 GAA, a .940 save percentage and four shutouts.

Grosenick, who played in only three games last season, was the first Union player to ever be nominated for the Hobey.

Only two goalies have ever won the Hobey, which was first presented on 1981. They were Minnesota's Robb Stauber in 1988, and Michigan State's Ryan Miller in 2001.

Smith, the ECACH Player of the Year, had 31 goals and 26 assists this season for the Raiders. Abbott had 21 goals and 41 assists for the Black Bears. Connolly led the Bulldogs with 20 goals and 40 assists.

The winner will be announced next Friday at 6 p.m. in Tampa, Fla. The ceremony will be televised by the NHL Network.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In