Subscriber login

High School
What you need to know for 01/18/2018

High School Notes: Liverio, Carbone pick Hobart, Union

High School Notes: Liverio, Carbone pick Hobart, Union

The Liberty League’s football co-champions are getting two of Amsterdam High School’s leading defend

The Liberty League’s football co-champions are getting two of Amsterdam High School’s leading defenders, with end Nick Liverio deciding on Hobart College and safety Chris Carbone commiting to Union College.

Union and Hobart both went 5-1 in the Liberty League last fall, and the Statesmen got their sixth NCAA tournament nod by virtue of a win over the Dutchmen.

“It’s big-time football there,” Liverio said of Hobart, which went 7-2 overall for its 15th straight winning season under coach Mike Cragg. “They take their football very seriously. When I was there, it felt like a Division I program, and I’m excited to be a part of it.”

Liverio was a two-year starter at defensive end and tight end for the Rugged Rams, and Carbone was a three-year starter in the secondary and as a wide receiver. The team captains helped Amsterdam reached the Section II Class A title game in the 2011 season, as Liverio recorded 82 tackles with five sacks, and Carbone totaled 75 tackles with seven interceptions. Carbone also caught five touchdown passes, returned a punt for a TD and passed for another.

Amsterdam is also sending footballers Nate Farley (linebacker) to Hartwick, Tyler Rouse (kicker) to Springfield, Matt White (receiver) to Erie and Chris Rodriguez (defensive line) and Hector Hill (receiver) to Hudson Valley.

Tennis champ stays local

Three-time Section II tennis champion Cathryn Crummey of Shaker will continue her career at the University at Albany.

The Shaker track teams have five Division I-bound athletes in Kristen Hayes (Bryant), Christian Delago (Florida State), Mike Libruk (Tennessee), John Vallecorsa (Binghamton) and Eric Hausamann (Binghamton).

Shenendehowa runners Evan Hayner (Saint Rose) and Will Marois (Adelphi), softball player Melissa Morgan (Franklin Pierce) and golfer D.J. Tozier (Columbus State) recently signed their letters of intent.

Lacrosse hall inductees

Albany Academy graduates Mike and Kevin Leveille will join Christian Brothers Academy alum Mike Regan as inductees into the Adirondack chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame later this month.

Mike Leveille played collegiately at Syracuse University, Kevin Leveille competed for the University of Massachusetts and Regan excelled at Butler before their careers expanded to the international and professional levels.

Mike Leveille won the Tewaartan Trophy as the nation’s top collegiate player in 2008 after leading Syracuse to the NCAA Division I championship. He was selected the tourney’s outstanding player.

High school and local college All-Americans, Section II coaches and Section II championship teams will be recognized at the June 28 honors banquet at the Franklin Terrace Ballroom in Troy.

What they’re doing

Onondaga Community College’s national lacrosse championship team included former Section II standouts Gil Connors of Saratoga Springs, Mike Daly of Shenendehowa, Eugene Sellie of Guilderland, Mike Russell of Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake and Mike Chambers of Niskayuna.

The Lazers (19-0) beat Nassau County Community College, 15-6, for their sixth NJCAA title in seven years and extended their winning streak to 52 games.

Connors was selected the national tournament’s top defensive player after making 15 saves against Nassau. He was also named the NJCAA Region III tournament’s defensive star after making 14 stops in a 24-6 title-game victory over Monroe.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In