Subscriber login

School Closings

Danes second in America East ‘Cup’ race

Danes second in America East ‘Cup’ race

In the closest race in America East Conference history, Boston University edged the University at Al

In the closest race in America East Conference history, Boston University edged the University at Albany by two points to win the Stuart P. Haskell Jr. Commissioner’s Cup at the annual conference awards dinner in Annapolis, Md., on Wednesday.

The Stuart P. Haskell Jr. Commissioner’s Cup is given to the strongest athletic program in the America East Conference, based on a scoring system which rewards a school for success both during the regular season and tournament competition in the conference’s 20 sports.

UAlbany has finished second for the fifth time in the last six years. The Great Danes became the first conference program to sweep the men’s cross country and men’s

indoor and outdoor track and field titles for both the regular season and the conference tournament since 1998. They also swept conference crowns in volleyball, along with winning their first championship in women’s basketball, second straight women’s lacrosse title and fourth consecutive women’s outdoor track and field championship.


Max Balter of the men’s indoor and outdoor track and field team was named the Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year at Union College’s annual Athletics Senior Apprec-­iation Event at Memorial Chapel.

Balter not only carried a 3.79 GPA in mechanical engineering but also is the school record holder in the indoor long jump. He was a member of the school-record 4x200 relay team and the Liberty League Indoor Performer of the Year.

Balter was a New York state and Liberty League champion, and also traveled to Ethiopia for his leadership role in Engineers Without Borders.

Men’s soccer player Kevan Benn earned the Award for Academic Excellence, while men’s lacrosse player Will Mahony was given the Award for Leadership, Service and Outreach.

Women’s soccer/women’s basketball player Mary Donohue and volleyball player Eve Richards both won the Robert M. Ridings Mem­orial Award, while men’s lac­rosse goalie Sean Aaron captured the William B. Jaffe ’26 Athletic Award.

Aaron, a three-time USILA All-American and two-time Liberty League Defensive Player of the Year, signed with the Hamilton Nationals of Major League Lacrosse to be a part of their practice squad Thursday.

Women’s cross country runner Ramsey Steiner was presented the President’s Commission on the

Status of Women Award, while women’s ice hockey/softball player Lauren Hoffman, men’s hockey player Nolan Julseth-White and football player/men’s lacrosse player Jon Stidd earned the Athletic Director’s Awards for Leadership.

Softball player Samantha Chev­alier won the ECAC Medal of Merit, and hockey player Jeremy Welch earned the William A. Pike Award.

Women’s lacrosse player Emily McGrail was presented the Terry Lynch-Jackie Havercamp Cuttita Memorial Award.



Third baseman Sean Geisel and outfielder Andy Kozak were named to the Mountain Valley All-Conference team in baseball.


Kyle LaVigne, a senior outfielder, was named to the Liberty League first team after hitting a team-best .403 with 38 RBI and six home runs.


Junior Alexa Veeder (Academy of the Holy Names) was named the women’s lacrosse team’s MVP after scoring 37 goals and adding five assists in 12 games. Veeder collected a school-record 12 goals in a 19-13 win over Elms.

Other women’s lacrosse honors went to senior Ginelle Butler from Ballston Spa (Coaches’ Award for dedication) and Allison Maben from Taconic Hills (Most Improved Player).


Women’s soccer standout Christina Cuffari was named both the Northeast-10 Women of the Year and Outstanding Female Scholar-Athlete during the league’s annual awards banquet. Cuffari was the Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year and led the Golden Knights to the national Division II championship.


Danny Martinsen, Chris Roth and Brendan Meehan joined Bryan Neufeld and Tom Morr on the All-MAAC first team, while head coach John Svec was named the Coach of the Year in men’s lacrosse.

Junior Shannon Jones was named the MAAC softball Co-Player of the Year after leading the MAAC in batting (.434), home runs (14), RBI (43), hits (66), runs (46) and total bases (127). She was also named Siena’s Female Athlete of the Year.

Jessika-Jo Sandrini (.403, 13 home runs, 39 RBI) was also named to the MAAC first team.

The men’s and women’s cross co untry teams, the men’s and women’s tennis teams, and the women’s golf program earned Public Recognition Awards from the NCAA for posting Academic Progress Rates i the top-10 percent of their respective sports across the membership. It’s the second year all five programs were recognized.


Senior Zack Rudman (.377, 22 RBI) and junior Max Martins (4-0 record, 2.53 ERA in the regular season) were named to the Liberty League first team in baseball. Rudman was also named to the Capital One Academic All-District 3 first team along with softball players Sam Crose and Carol Brown. Crose is the program’s all-time leader in wins, shutouts and strikeouts.

Diver Douglas Pilawa was named to the Capital One Academic All-America Division III At-Large second team.


Sophomore equestian performer Danielle Taylor, sophomore track and field athlete Africa Harper, sophomore swimmer Erin Rynn and sophomore swimmer Todd Krautz were named Chancellor Scholar-Athletes. Taylor was second overall in the Region 3 Zone 2 Reg­ionals in Western Showmanship. Harper established women’s program records in the 200-, 400- and 100-meter dash indoor,s as well as the 200- and 400-meter dash outdoors. Rynn won the 400-yard individual medley and the 1,650-yard freestyle at the North Eastern Athletic Conference swimming championships, while Krautz was a standout in the 100-yard butterfly and the 200-yard individual medley relay.

Junior attack Peter Gonzalez, senior midfielder Jeff Fitchner and freshman long stick midfielder Eric Ammirati were named to the NEAC first team in men’s lacrosse.


Chris Massaroni (Voorheesville) was named to SUNYAC All-Conference team in baseball after the designated hitter was second on the team with a .350 batting average.

Sean Wren (Duanesburg) was named to the SUNYAC All-Conference team in track and field after winning the 400-meter hurdles.


Union College crew coach Tom White, along with assistant coaches Steve Eichfeld and Tim Nonna, were named the Liberty League men’s crew coaching staff of the year. The varsity eight won four straight races and finished second in the Liberty League Championships.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In