Subscriber login

What you need to know for 01/20/2018

Local legislators get committee assignments

Local legislators get committee assignments

Members of the state Legislature have received their committee assignments for the new two-year term

Members of the state Legislature have received their committee assignments for the new two-year term.

State Sen. James Seward, R-Milford, will chair the Senate's Insurance Committee again. His top priorities are to keep health insurance costs down and coverage options up.

"Helping guide the creation of a new health insurance exchange, as well as fighting insurance fraud, which drives up costs for businesses and individuals alike, will be leading legislative concerns in the next year," Seward said in a statement.

Seward has also been named to the Senate's Agriculture, Education, Finance, Rules, Higher Education, Mental Health and Health committees.

State Sen. Hugh Farley, R-Niskayuna, the longest-serving member in that chamber, has been named vice chairman of the Senate Banks Committee. Farley is also on the Education, Ethics, Finance, Social Services, Rules and Health committees.

Freshman state Sen. Kathy Marchione, R-Halfmoon, has been appointed to chair the Administrative Regulations Review Commission. Marchione is also on the Senate's Aging, Banks, Consumer Protections, Cultural Affairs, Tourism, Parks and Recreation, Elections, Labor, Local Government and Racing committees.

Fellow freshman state Sen. Cecilia Tkaczyk, D-Duanesburg, who is in the minority party, was appointed to the Senate's Elections, Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, Education, Agriculture, Environmental Conservation and Children and Families committees. She will serve as the ranking minority member on the Elections and Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities committees.

Freshman Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara, D-Rotterdam, was named to that chamber's Agriculture, Energy, Government Employees, Small Business and Veteran Affairs committees.

Freshman Assemblyman Phil Steck, D-Colonie, was named to the Children and Families, Insurance, Judiciary and Transportation committees.

Freshman Assemblyman Dan Stec, R-Queensbury, is the ranking member of the Environmental Conservation Committee, while Assemblyman Peter Lopez, R-Schoharie, is leading a farm committee.

Stec was also named to the Banks, Local Governments, Social Services and Tourism, Parks, Arts and Sports Development committees, while Lopez was also named to the Education, Agriculture and Environmental Conservation committees.

Assemblyman James Tedisco, R-Glenville, was named to the Cities, Corporations, Authorities and Commissions, Economic Development, Job Creation, Commerce and Industry, Racing and Wagering and Rules committees.

Assemblyman Tony Jordan, R-Jackson, was named to the Ethics and Guidance, Local Governments and Rules committees.

Assemblyman Marc Butler, R-Newport, was named to the Agriculture, Economic Development, Job Creation, Commerce and Industry, Environmental Conservation, Higher Education and Insurance committees.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In