Subscriber login

Local News
What you need to know for 01/22/2018

Village elections scattered, low-key

Village elections scattered, low-key

Village elections will be held from noon until 9 p.m. Tuesday across New York state.

Village elections will be held from noon until 9 p.m. Tuesday across New York state.

In some villages there are contests for offices, some have uncontested elections and some don’t have any elections this cycle.

Albany County

Altamont: Mayor James Gaughan and trustees Kerry Dineen and Dean Whalen are all running unopposed for re-election. Leslie Stefan is running unopposed for village justice.

No elections in Colonie, Green Island, Menands, Ravena and Voorheesville.

Fulton County

Broadalbin: Mayor Eugene Christopher is running unopposed for re-election and Thomas Folts and Theodore Bochenek are running for two trustee seats unopposed.

Mayfield: Paul Wilde and Emory Chase are running unopposed for two trustee seats.

Northville: No elections.

Montgomery County

Canajoharie: Two incumbents are running for two trustee seats — Jena Coppernoll and Ronald O. Dievendorf. Village justice Jay Myers is seeking re-election unopposed. Voting is at the municipal building at 75 Erie Blvd.

Hagaman: Mayor Martin A. Natoli Sr., running on the Sunshine Party line, is being challenged by village trustee Michael Shover on the Citizens for Responsible Government line. Three people are running for two trustee seats: Kathleen Louer on the People’s Choice line, Richard H. Conti on the Bull Moose line and Paul J. Fryzel on the Working Man’s Party line. Voting will be at Pawling Hall at 86 Pawling St.

Nelliston: Incumbent trustee Russell Vance is seeking the single seat up for election. Voting is in the Village Hall at 11 River St.

Saratoga County

Schuylerville: Mayor John Sherman, a Republican, is being challenged by Charles Sherman on the Democratic line; they are not related. Incumbent James Miers and Andrew Jennings are running for trustee seats on the Republican line against Daniel Carpenter and Paul Flanders on the Democratic line. Voting will be at the firehouse at 35 Spring St.

South Glens Falls: Mayor Keith Donohue, running on the Bulldog Price Party line, is being challenged by Joseph Orlow, running on the Republican line. Edward LaFave and Anthony Girard are running for two trustee seats unopposed.

Victory: Voters in this 605-resident village will vote on whether the village should be dissolved and become part of the town of Saratoga on Dec. 31, 2014. Mayor James Sullivan is not seeking re-election to another four-year term. Two are seeking the seat: Malcolm Salls, on the Democratic and Victory Green party lines, and Patrick Dewey, currently a village trustee, on the Republican line. Two are running for a single trustee seat up for election: Patricia Jolie-Zotzmann on the Victory Green party line and incumbent Timothy Healy on the Republican and Truth & Agenda party lines. Voting will be in the community center at 23 Pine St.

Schenectady County

Delanson: Mayor Sally Burns isn’t seeking re-election. Two people are running for mayor: Ron Holbrook of the Bright Future Party and Gayle Gifford of the Civic Pride Party. Josh O’Conor is running unopposed for a single trustee seat. Voting will be at the fire station.

Scotia: No election until November.

Schoharie County

Richmondville: Mayor Kevin Neary and trustees Imer Rivenburgh and Natasha Foote are seeking re-election unopposed. Voting will be at the Radez Elementary School at 319 Main St.

Cobleskill: Vote in November.

Esperance: Vote in November.

Middleburgh: No contested race.

Schoharie: No election this year.

Sharon Springs: Vote in June.

View Comments
Hide Comments
0 premium 1 premium 2 premium 3 premium 4 premium 5 premium article articles remaining SUBSCRIBE TODAY

You have reached your monthly premium content limit.

Continue to enjoy Daily Gazette premium content by becoming a subscriber.
Already a subscriber? Log In